a plantain and a giveaway!

happy monday! the move to my new apartment is now officially less than a week away, and i couldn’t be more excited! yesterday i said that i was going to have a relaxing day, but then i decided that sounded boring…so i went shopping. hehe. all by myself! i like doing that. i bought a cute top, a t-shirt, some plain long sleeves, a scarf, and a pair of really cute oven mitts from anthropology to take up to the new apartment. yay! i would take a picture to show you, but a.) my mom already packed them away, and b.) my camera ran out of batteries. i have a couple of eats to share though, and a giveaway to talk about! so let’s get the ball rolling.

brown rice pasta, sauteed zucchini, evoo, balsamic vinegar, sea salt, black pepper

brown rice pasta, sauteed zucchini, evoo, balsamic vinegar, sea salt, black pepper

so simple. so fresh. so delicious. brown rice pasta tastes like super al dente white pasta, but it’s gluten-free and oh so much better for you! whole grain pastas are my love.

oat bran (1/3 cup OB, 2/3 cup water), sauteed plantain, and a scoop of peanut butter

oat bran (1/3 cup oat bran, 2/3 cup water), sauteed plantain, a scoop of peanut butter

yessssssssss! i finally sauteed a plantain this morning for the first time! and i am now in love. IN LOVE! it tastes so much different than a banana. a lot fruitier and more tropical tasting. i’m going to start buying plantains more often. they truly are delicious! i sauteed this one in a little bit of coconut oil. the slices got all soft and wonderful on the inside, and golden on the outside. this was such a comforting breakie!

now to the giveaway news. katie has finally informed us of her spiralizer giveaway! geez girl, decided you held out on us long enough?! i want a spiralizer really badly, because i always grate my zucchini, and it just doesn’t seem the same! when i read what i can do to get six extra entries, i of course had to do it. make one of her recipes and blog about it? easy as pie. or…easy as banana bread in a bowl! :)

since i had already eaten breakfast, i decided to make it for my brother because he had just gotten up. usually he has absolutely no interest in my food, but for some extremely strange reason, he actually agreed to let me make him something. i’m sure  the name “banana bread in a bowl” had something to do with this startling decision. since i’ve been making gena’s banana soft serve all the time, i have a bunch of frozen banana pieces in the fridge, so i was able to make this nice and cold for him! i used flax plus for the cereal, and followed katie’s recipe exactly. before transferring it to a bowl, i took a spoonful out of the blender to taste it (so that it would still look even in his bowl, haha) and it’s SO YUM. next time i’ll be making it for MYSELF. needless to say, my brother loved it, and wanted a second bowl. my response: “go make it yourself.” i wish i had a picture of it to show you, but like i mentioned earlier, my camera ran out of batteries right after taking the picture of my plantain breakfast. not only is my camera out of batteries, but we’re actually completely out of batteries in this house. so it looks like i’m going to have to run and get some as soon as possible. isn’t it lame that my camera doesn’t have a rechargable battery? it’s a canon powershot sx110. nicer than my old camera, which didn’t require actual batteries. weird.

well i hope you all have a fabulous day today. i might go see the orphan tonight. i hope that ends up happening, because i really want to see it. it looks so creepy!

17 Responses to “a plantain and a giveaway!”

  1. Special K Says:

    Totally check it out! I got a spiraler and it just rocks…when you get the chance, check out my latest giveaway and did you send me a ME Meal yet?

  2. Chocolate-Covered Katie Says:

    Wow, nicest sister award? I entered you for the spiralizer… if you don’t win, I think your brother should buy you one!

  3. VeggieGirl Says:

    That plantain sounds delish!! Glad that your brother approved as well :-)

  4. healthyhappyhippiechick Says:

    yum plantains sound good.. i’ve never tried them but i definitely will now! and thanks for the link to the giveaway!

  5. veganfritz Says:

    plantainss, yeauh yeauh!

  6. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    Love the looks of that pasta girl… YUM!

    Haha, I have a rechargable battery pack, yet I always seem to run it past it’s lifespan. I’ve had a few frustrating moments where I had to get out my mom’s camera and take a shot. Guess it just teaches me a lesson to pay attention to the flashing red battery indicator. ;)

    xxoo
    Heather

  7. Nora Says:

    I like shopping by myself too sometimes!

    I made the banana bread ina bowl a week or so ago, using frozen bananas and Flax Plus as well (and pecans)–I loved it!

  8. Bianca- Vegan Crunk Says:

    Hey, hey! Thanks for the award. I’m a little behind on blog checkin! I love being called the “ultimate vegan.”! That just makes me all warm and fuzzy inside. :-)

    The pasta dish sounds so good. Seasonal veggies tossed with whole grain pasta and olive oil is one of my favorite things ever!

  9. Kailey Says:

    yummy plantains :D
    oh I just say your other larabar post – LOVE IT!! Can’t wait for part 2

  10. Emily Says:

    Yay I love shopping by myself, too. Then I don’t feel badly for making people wait for me.

    Good luck with the spiralizer (but I want to win it, too!)!

  11. elise Says:

    ok, im going to have to try plantains that way now…looks amazing. of course, what DOESNT got with peanut butter, right?

  12. broccolihut Says:

    Mmm great use of zucchini–I have tons of it to use up!
    Isn’t Banana Bread in a Bowl amazing?? I could eat that for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

  13. Neela Marijana Says:

    i have never tried plantan but after reading this i will look out for them for sure. hope you enjoy the movie when you see it :)
    xxx

  14. Lexi Says:

    I haven’t tried plantain either! thanks for the saute directions! Mmm!

  15. justine Says:

    Hey, Thanks for stopping by my bloggie :)!! Love that Grape Kombucha!! Have yet to try the Strawberry but that will be my next one for sure. I wonder if they give samples to blogs?? I might just have to shoot them a line :). hehe

    I have had plantain but never made it myself. I need to pick one up. Can you eat it plain like a banana?

    ~Justine

  16. sarahdbelle Says:

    The pasta looks delicious, and I love the story about the banana bread in a bowl. Also, my camera runs out of batteries all the time. It’s so annoying!
    Sarah

  17. holly the healthy everythingtarian Says:

    ahhhhhh….so much to catch-up on love!

    first, thank you soooo much for that honest award. thank you – i LOVE your blog, and send it right back atcha. things are obv crazy with moving, so this is long overdue, but i will include that in my next post!

    second, new laras!!! so jealous, i still cannot find them. the pb+j looks awesome, but i am reallllly excited for the tropical fruit tart!

    that noodle dish looks sooo good – simple is best, no? i haven’t tried any gluten-free pastas, but i will keep my eyes out. which reminds me, its been far too long since ive had soba noodles too!

    hope you have been well my dear – see you soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

