a teeny update

hello loves! my life has been so chaotic lately. i’m homesick to the extreme. i’ve been crying multiple times a day. i just want my mommy! being away from home is so much harder than i imagined it to be. on top of this, there have only been two days of school and i already feel completely overwhelmed with reading. so i’m going to make this post short, because dinner has to be made and history has to be read! here are a few recent eats:

a nice lunch with the roomie

a nice lunch with the roomie

a great salad which we topped with homemade thousand island, and a side of cumin & nooch black beans with fresh tomato

a great salad which i topped with homemade vegan thousand island, and a side of cumin & nooch black beans with fresh tomato

forbidden rice, stir-fried tofu, and a thai-flavored veggie medley

forbidden rice, stir-fried tofu, and a thai-flavored veggie medley

a simple dinner with the roomie

a simple dinner with the roomie. that's homemade vegan gravy right there! :)

baked potato, steamed broccoli, and a side of mixed greens with too much of that homemade thousand island (oopsies!)

baked potato, steamed broccoli, and a side of mixed greens with too much of that homemade thousand island (oopsies!)

whole grain udon noodles, sauteed zucchini and mushrooms, wilted spinach, and leftover gravy

whole grain udon noodles, sauteed zucchini and mushrooms, wilted spinach, and leftover gravy

since these eats, my appetite has dwindled significantly. i’m not eating as much as i should be, due to all of this stress and painful homesickness. i’m not going to go too much into detail about it, but i’m having an awfully hard time adjusting. at least my classes seem great so far. *knock on wood.* bye for now everybody! x’s and o’s. and just so you all know, i feel pretty bad that i haven’t been able to keep up with my google reader, but i honestly don’t have the time or energy. i’m pretty down right now. hope you understand. but don’t forget about me just because i haven’t been around as much! :(

16 Responses to “a teeny update”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Oh no!! Hang in there with the homesickness and with classes – feel free to contact me for extra support.

  2. Tina Says:

    We all get busy sometimes. But just so you know, it doesnt’mean we won’t be reading anymore. Just take care of yourself and make sure that your health comes first, sweetheart :)

    xxx

  3. Mitri Says:

    The beginning of the semester always requires time to adjust. There is just so much to do! But give it some time, and take care of yourself :) No worries about keeping up with the blogs. Life offline is a weeeeee bit more important. :P

    If you need someone to vent to, let me know and I can give you my e-mail. We’re here for ya!

    P.S. I love your orange utensils.

  4. mayapamela Says:

    Good luck! Once you get used to everything it will get better!

  5. broccolihut Says:

    Aww I am so sorry to hear about your struggles. I can definitely relate to that nagging feeling of “I just wanna go home!” I’m hear for you, babe!

  6. Kelly Says:

    I’m a new reader, but I just want to tell you that IT WILL GET BETTER! I graduated from college in June (and miss it already), but my first week or so as a freshman was ROUGH, man. I was 1300 miles away from home and although I thought I could handle it, it definitely took a while to adjust. Once I actually made a friend (well, I suppose she was more of an acquaintance at first) things started to look up; even though I’m normally more introverted than extroverted, I found that spending time with other people and not being alone was tremendously helpful. Hang in there and try not to stress too much! Don’t freak out about reading; make sure to give yourself some relaxation time and do something fun in between heavy reading periods. I’m sending lots of positive thoughts your way!

  7. veganfritz Says:

    Nah, I’m not forgetting about you. & pony up, things will get better. Stay gold.

  8. Shelby Says:

    Aw hun! Hang in there! Sending you lots of love <3

  9. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    It’s always hard to be away from your family for so long! Just try to keep up your positive, upbeat attitude and hang in there. I promise things will get better as you begin to adjust to your new setting and get a normal routine going. Just keep busy (not too hard in college, right?) and stay positive! :)

    xxoo
    Heather

  10. Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian) Says:

    oh my dear…no worries! you will get through it. it is definitely hard at first, but things like this require an adjustment period. keep hanging in there, and i know things will get better :)

    lots of hugs,
    holly

  11. Jenny Says:

    aw, love – i’m so sorry to hear about the homesickness! I can COMPLETELY relate.. i experienced the same thing when i was away at school — don’t let the stress hinder all of your amazing progress! ED loves to hit us hard during times of weakness, don’t let him! you’re stronger than him girl! try to invest you mind in to positive coping mechanisms: read, write, journal, color, yoga – anything!

    stay positive girl – i’m always here for you if you need anything!
    lots of love,
    Jenny

  12. Emily Says:

    JB- I hope you feel better soon. The homesickness does get better, but I’m not gonna lie…I have sad days where I really really just miss home (and I’m 24 and in my 7th year of post-high school ed)! My mom always used to remind me to just “do the next thing.” Take things one at a time, and remember to breathe. As you get busier and get to know people, you’ll build up a support system that will make it a little easier while you’re away from home.

    Love and hugs!

  13. psychoj1 Says:

    I TOTALLY understand!! Take as much time as you need, relax, take a deep breath, do some yoga, drink some tea, etc. It’s all going to be okay! It will! Feel free to email me is you ever need to!! <3 jess
    xoxoxo

  14. Damjana Says:

    We understand it. It just takes time so that things get settled. Good luck!

  15. Katharina Says:

    Oh no! I know we don’t know each other personally, but if you want someone to e-mail or whatever you can reach me at onthepolkadot@hotmail.com or knollk@vcu.edu. It’s definitely hard and takes some time adjusting to. I remember when I went to Germany after high school, and I called my mom everyday, went online to chat with her, and cried a lot. I felt so far away and the only place I wanted to be was home. But once you start integrating yourself more and getting a hang of things, it’ll be easy. Take care girl. My heart is with you and I wish you the best!

    XO

    p.s. of course we won’t forget you! that’s crazy talk!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  16. Special K Says:

    Over a decade ago, my first semester in college, I HATED IT! SO many changes. Please, please, please, be patient with yourself. Try to spend one day just dating yourself and not calling home. If you haven’t clicked with anyone, ask them to go to a movie with you or go get pedicures. If that seems too big, GO ON YOUR OWN. This is not the time to be hard on yourself. What would feel comforting?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

