will you accept this rose?

hey loves!

i have today’s breakfast and dinner to share with you on this wonderfully average tuesday evening. breakfast was oatmeal. surprise, surprise. i should stop simply calling my breakfasts “oatmeal” and instead give each individual bowl an interesting name. starting now. 

i give you…golden peachut butter oatmeal! accompanied by mr. wooden froggy.

IMG_1534

IMG_1536

1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, cinnamon, 1 chopped yellow peach, 1/2 sliced banana, date pieces, golden raisins, 1 scoop peanut butter

Y.U.M.

i’m almost out of oats and i forgot to buy more today! i better have 1/2 cup for the morning. it looks like there’s just about that much left. my entire world might come crashing down on me if i don’t have enough oats to make a bowl of oatmeal tomorrow. well that’s not true, actually. i haven’t had barley plus in a while, so i guess i will make do with that if oatmeal isn’t an option.

ever since seeing sam from merit to the carrot’s sweet potato lunch the other day, i’ve been wanting one! i decided to have it for dinner tonight. i was going to have it with hummus, but then i remembered a spectacular idea. a while ago, heather from heather eats almond butter mentioned eating a sweet potato with miso paste. i thought that sounded so good, so that’s what i did tonight! i also had a salad, and put a scoop of hummus on top since i opted for miso paste on the sweet potato. let me just say…miso paste on a sweet potato is heavenly! the saltiness of the miso combined with the sweetness of the potato…ahhhh. i also sprinkled a generous amount of black pepper on it throughout eating. this dinner was GREAT! the sweet potato was delicious and comforting, and the salad was fresh, flavorful, and a little bit spicy! it consisted of spinach, romaine lettuce, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, black olives, crushed red pepper, a dressing combination of italian and vegan ranch, and a scoop of hummus. the miso paste and the hummus almost look the same in the picture…weird!

IMG_1562

i ate this in my bedroom and caught up on some of monday night’s bachelorette episode. since it’s 2 hours long, it takes me a couple of days to get through it. should i be embarrassed for even watching this show? haha. “yes, you should,” says the better part of my brain. but i don’t care. i’m going to go get ready for bed now and watch the rest of it. i stopped it right before the rose ceremony! night!

p.s. if we were all on a reality show like the bachelorette, i would want to give each one of you amazing bloggers a rose! thank you again for being so kind to me and leaving me comments, even though i’m still relatively new to wordpress. one more time, it means a lot! and it encourages me to continue blogging. 🙂

393px-Red_rose

5 Responses to “will you accept this rose?”

  1. Heather Eats Almond Butter Says:

    Your miso paste and hummus do look like twins. So glad you tried the sweet/savory combo and like it. Thanks for the shout out!

    No, don’t be embarrassed. Every time I walk up to the front desk at work (I work in a doctor’s office), my coworkers are watching The Bachelorette. They’re obsessed with this particular season for some reason. So, you’re not along.

    Enjoy the rest of your week…hope you had enough oats this morning. 🙂

  2. Heather Eats Almond Butter Says:

    Oops, meant So, you’re not alone.

  3. Karina Pinzon Says:

    You bowl of oats belongs in MY tummy. It looks so good! You are very talented in the oat department. And I like your little tea mug.
    Thanks for the rose, doll. That is my favorite flower! 😄

  4. merittothecarrot Says:

    OHH NOOOO! No oats? Even if you do opt for something different for breakfast tomorrow, just looking in the pantry and seeing the beloved oats is comforting. My heart goes out for you! hahah
    thanks for the lovely shout out 😉 Sweet potatoes are spectacular. Now I have a new way to eat em’!
    Anywho, your breakfast is jaw dropping. but that’s nothing new.

    Have a splendid day indeed, my friend.
    -Sam

  5. Mitri Says:

    I fear for you & your lack of oats 😛

    I just had a diced sweet potato in my big ol’ salad for lunch! Apparently I was channeling my inner cardioVEGsular

    Love the wooden froggy 🙂 My grandma made something similar for me, except it was a moose!

Leave a Reply

