yesterday, today, and right now

hey everyone! i hope you all are having a great thursday. right now i’m relaxing with a hot cup of rooibos chai tea that i creamified with a combination of lite coconut milk and rice milk. mmmm.

IMG_2231

i used two tea bags to make this cup, but it still isn’t spicy enough for me. anywho, between yesterday and today i’ve had some pretty yummy meals! let’s start with the former, shall we?

IMG_2213

a grilled tofu sandwich on sesame bread, pcc sauce for dipping, and steamed broccoli with peanut sauce

i had never actually made a tofu sandwich before this one. it was a success. i loved it! i simply coated a few tofu slices in barbeque sauce, sprinkled them with sea salt and chili powder, grilled ’em up, and then sandwiched them between two slices of toast spread with dijon mustard. i can’t get over how much i love pcc sauce. my stepdad tried it and didn’t like it. i don’t know how that’s possible! i guess everyone’s taste buds have different personalities. anyway, i thought it tasted especially wonderful paired with the flavors in the tofu sandwich. moving on now…

IMG_2217

a green monster spiced with cinnamon and ground ginger root, and topped with sliced banana

once again, i took this green monster out on the patio with a book, only to go back inside and not read a single page. haha! why can’t i read anymore? it’s beginning to frustrate me. i think i read best when i’m in bed, but usually i’m just too sleepy to do that.

IMG_2220

quinoa and millet, sauteed zucchini, artichoke hearts, black olives, tomato sauce, and raw walnuts

ohhhh, this was really good. when i took a bite of zucchini with a walnut, i was so glad that i decided to add the walnuts in! they definitely completed the meal. all the flavors in this dinner went really well with one another, but i particularly enjoyed that zucchini-walnut combination. walnuts taste great with everything though! i loved them with the artichoke hearts and the black olives too!

IMG_2222

leftover millet and quinoa, 1/2 apple, 1/2 banana, rice milk, 1 big scoop raw almond butter

this was today’s breakfast. it tasted incredible! i had saved the leftover millet and quinoa that i cooked up last night (these two grains make a great couple, by the way) and it’s a good thing i did, because it made for a fantastic breaky.

well, i’m almost done with my chai. now i have to go get ready to leave the house. i’m seeing the hangover with a couple of friends. hopefully it’s as hilarious as everyone is saying it is. i hate when a movie is too stupid to even be funny. i’ll let you know in tomorrow’s post whether or not i liked it! speaking of tomorrow’s post, i have an amazing recipe in store. stay tuned, my friends. 😉

6 Responses to “yesterday, today, and right now”

  1. Shelby Says:

    The millet cereal looks amazing! I actually wish I had some right now haha

  2. psychoj1 Says:

    Chai tea is the BOMB. Love it from Starbucks especially 😀

    Fabulous green smoothie!

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  3. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    Loving the cup girl! You definitely know how to relax! 🙂

    Definitely some delicious meals happening! What a great idea with the sliced banana on top of your green smoothie. I love the whole “eating it in a bowl” too. Gotta try that out for fun sometime!

    And awesome breakfast! Apple just tastes good in everything haha. 😉

    xxoo
    Heather

  4. Jenny Says:

    enjoy the hangover :)! Can’t wait to hear how you like it! xo

  5. Ashley Says:

    I’ve had rooibos tea before, but never with chai! I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with chai. I don’t really like cloves, so when I have a tea with too much clove-flavour happening I’m not very happy. Which seems silly because I bet cloves are the number one ingredient right? But otherwise, I love me some spicy chai.

    Your tofu sammy looks great! I have some in the fridge and have been meaning to whip it out sometime soon. I always just eat mine plain though, so will definately try some BBQ next time to jazz it up a bit!

    The quinoa and millet mix looks delish! I’m also a big fan of adding nuts to my dishes. They always make a good difference 🙂

    And I love that you have a defined ‘method’ for eating breakfast too! I definately think you need to save the best for last 😉

  6. Mitri Says:

    Rooibos chai tea!!! I’ve only ever had it without milk. What was I thinkin’??

    I know how it can be about reading. I *want* to read more, but I always find myself wokring on other things and by the time I sit down to read, it’s too late!

    Love that dinner 🙂

    As for the raw banana froyo you asked about, it’s 100% vegan & super easy. I saw it on another blog. Just take 2 or 3 frozen sliced bananas and whip them in a food processor for about 5 minutes, stopping frequently to spatula the sides down. At first it looks like crumbled couscous, but then it gets super creamy!

Leave a Reply

