say tan!

no, say white! i’m actually not planning to tan at all this summer. i’m going to protect my fair skin, and not strive to change its hue for a mere couple of months. being blonde, blue-eyed, freckly, and from a family with a history of skin cancer, i’ve decided to take my future into consideration and play it safe. hello, SPF 100! however, i’m all for my new man named seitan. in fact, i baked a loaf for the first time yesterday! with only a few minor adaptations, i followed the infamous seitan recipe o’ greatness from lindy loo (yeah, that vegan shit.)

look at this gorgeous log, fresh out of the oven:

IMG_2229

i. am. obsessed. get your booty in the kitchen and make this RIGHT NOW. i’m going to start using it in everything. from pastas to rices to stir-fries to burritos to eating it plain! it’s full of flavor. very savory and spicy (but nothing the average person can’t handle.) and the texture is perfection. honestly, i think i could just eat the whole log plain as a meal. last night for dinner i made sauteed onion, spinach, and a seitan sandwich (along with an un-pictured side of pcc sauce.) i even put a couple extra slices of seitan on the side because i couldn’t resist. it’s that delicious. (although, i must admit that i wasn’t hungry enough to finish both of those extra slices. seitan is filling!)

IMG_2237

so do you want the recipe that made this glorious seitan? i promise that it will fill your tummy with all kinds of love. before i post my recipe, i wouldn’t be a decent blogger if i didn’t post the link that inspired me to make it. so here it is. and this is how i made my heavenly log:

SPECTACULARLY SAVORY SEITAN

DRY INGREDIENTS:

1 ½ CUPS VITAL WHEAT GLUTEN

¼ CUP NUTRITIONAL YEAST

1 TEASPOON SEA SALT

2 TEASPOONS CHILE POWDER

2 TEASPOONS BLACK PEPPER

WET INGREDIENTS:

¾ CUP COLD WATER

¼ CUP TOMATO PASTE

2 TABLESPOONS OLIVE OIL

2 TABLESPOONS SOY SAUCE

1 TABLESPOON KETCHUP

2 CLOVES GARLIC, MINCED

PROCESS:

1.) PREHEAT OVEN TO 325 DEGREES FARENHEIT.

2.) IN A LARGE BOWL, MIX DRY INGREDIENTS. IN A SMALLER BOWL, WHISK WET INGREDIENTS UNTIL MIXED.

3.) ADD WET INGREDIENTS TO DRY INGREDIENTS. MIX WELL, THEN KNEAD FOR ABOUT 15 MINUTES.

4.) FORM INTO A 6-8 INCH LOG. WRAP TIGHTLY IN FOIL AND TWIST ENDS.

5.) BAKE FOR 90 MINUTES. WHEN DONE, UNWRAP AND LEAVE OUT UNTIL FULLY COOLED.

6.) REWRAP IN FOIL AND REFRIGERATE.

7.) CONSUME HOWEVER YOUR HEART DESIRES. 🙂

13 Responses to “say tan!”

  1. Jenny Says:

    glad you’re embracing your naturally beautiful milky white skin 🙂

  2. Chocolate-Covered Katie Says:

    LOL I love the title!

    Happy 4th!

  3. psychoj1 Says:

    Yay for loving your skin as it is 🙂 No need to risk something serious!

    Have a wonderful fourth!

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  4. Shelby Says:

    Your title is so creative! haha

    Mmm, love seitan! I’m actually going to get vital wheat gluten soon to make some more. Homemade is the best!

  5. Mitri Says:

    White is the new awesome 😉 Love the name of your recipe!

  6. Emily Says:

    You and me both! Being white is so much healthier for your skin anyways! Lowers the risk for skin cancer!

  7. broccolihut Says:

    Thanks for the recipe–I’ve always wanted to make seitan but been too intimidated.
    PS Be proud of your fair skin from a fellow non-tanner–pasty pride!

  8. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    I have to say that I seriously admire your strength to avoid the tanning craziness. White skin is just as beautiful as tanned skin, so rock that pasty glow! 😉

    I just wanted to say thanks for all that laptop advice. I actually tried out a Mac Book at an apple store before buying my Sony and thought it was too different for my liking, although the computer itself was amazing! However, that’s definitely what I’m going to next if this one doesn’t work out.

    Oh, and I totally thought of you this morning halfway through my green smoothie. I was like “darn, I was gonna put it in a bowl with sliced bananas!” I totally have to try out the bowl idea and the almond butter… next time, I promise! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  9. Ashley Says:

    You go girl! Who needs to ruin their skin with the stupid sun? No one. I’m pale and I embrace it. Plus, we will look younger in the long run. No pruney skin for us!

    Your ‘log’ looks… interesting. But I bet it’s mighty tasty! You always have the greatest recipes 🙂

  10. Emily Says:

    I’ve never tried seitan before, but I’m always open to new meat alternatives. Thanks for the recipe!

    Nice to meet you, JB. I’d love to send you baking samples..but I’m afraid my family would demolish everything before it ever got out to the mail. 🙂

  11. Lindy Loo Says:

    Awww, thanks for the shout-out, buddy!

  12. good morning munchkins « cardioVEGsular Says:

    […] artichoke hearts, a touch of olive oil, sea salt, black pepper, a few dashes of hot sauce, and homemade seitan (which tastes A LOT like sausage.) okay, now onto the green monster. it contained…a few […]

  13. broccolihut Says:

    Quick question about the seitan recipe: how many servings would you estimate this recipe makes? I def want to try making it soon, but I want to know if I’ll need to scale it down for one person. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

