good morning munchkins

hey loves!

i missed a day of posting yesterday. from what i’ve been seeing and reading, it looks and sounds as though most of you had a wonderful 4th of july! i had a great time at my cousins’ house. we swam, hung out, ate, watched fireworks from the roof, and my uncle put on his own little fireworks show in the front yard. that’s always fun! my brother especially loves the home show because he’s such a pyro. i bought some vegan nummies from whole foods before going over there (no pictures, sorry) because the rest of the family’s menu consisted of spaghetti, my aunt’s mac and cheese, and obviously bbq! i had chinese green beans, grilled teriyaki tofu, squash and yams with fresh dill, and veggie brown rice. i love how whole foods clearly labels which dishes in the prepared foods section are vegan. i don’t buy a lot of prepared food, but when i do, i love the vegan stuff at wf. my dinner was really great! everything was fresh and flavorful. but enough about my 4th…since i neglected to photograph any of it. i do have some recent eats to share with you all.

vegan pizza and a green monster

IMG_2278

i ate this pizza in quesadilla-style, but unfolded it for the picture (hence the steam that took over the photo!) it was made up of organic pizza sauce made by muir glen, vegan gourmet jack cheese, and steamed green bell pepper slices, all inside of a whole wheat lavash wrap-up (look how big the wrap-up it is. it covers almost the whole plate!) i can’t believe how much vegan gourmet’s cheese tastes like real cheese when it’s melted. cold, not too great. in this pizza, delicious! an *applause* to vegan gourmet.

green tea oatmeal

IMG_2280

1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup green tea, 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, fresh strawberry slices, stevia, cinnamon, ginger, easy-peasy blueberry sauce, 1 scoop peanut butter

since the strawberry sauce that i made for my red, white, and blue oatmeal turned out so well, i decided to make blueberry sauce. i just put some fresh blueberries, a little bit of unsweetened almond milk, and a sprinkle of stevia in the magic bullet…and tada! easy-peasy blueberry sauce! i can’t wait to make easy-peasy sauce with another fruit. i’m thinking easy-peasy kiwi sauce would be delicious! it will definitely be making an appearance soon. speaking of green things, the green monster in this next photo contained an ingredient foreign to my typical gm…

IMG_2282

before i say what it was, in the bowl next to it is brown rice pasta. i tossed those noodles with peas, black olives, artichoke hearts, a touch of olive oil, sea salt, black pepper, a few dashes of hot sauce, and homemade seitan (which tastes A LOT like sausage.) okay, now onto the green monster. it contained…a few frozen mango chunks and a few frozen peach slices, spinach, unsweetened almond milk, stevia, aaaaand…1/2 zucchini! the zucchini was raw, of course. i LOVED this green monster! i had that 1/2 zucchini sitting in the fridge, so i thought i might as well throw it into my gm. oh, the things that can be disguised in a green monster…🙂

i’ve decided that this week i’m not going to post any breakfast or oatmeal photos. i’m going to save them up, and then i’ll dedicate an entire post to this week’s breakfasts! get excited!

three_bears_breakfast_38215

will it bother anyone if i start calling oatmeal porridge instead? i think it’s such a cute word. i’ve always loved it.

anywho, once i catch up on some blog reading, i’m off to the kitchen to bake my absolute favorite bread of all time. i’ve never made it myself before! the recipe comes from the cookbook of my favorite restaurant. i’m so excited to see how it turns out. i hope it tastes as good as it does at the restaurant! this bread will without a doubt be the main subject of tomorrow’s post, so stay tuned.

merry monday!

10 Responses to “good morning munchkins”

  1. ohsoravenous Says:

    Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog! ❤

    Glad you had a good 4th! I love love love Whole Foods as well (well, every foodie does!). Can't wait to see how your bread turns out!

  2. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    So glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend!

    That green tea oatmeal sounds so good! You definitely have a knack for coming up with some delicious oatmeal recipes. 🙂

    OMG, LOVE the idea of zucchini in the green smoothie. I’ve been a little weary about adding extra veggies to mine, but I should try that out. I’ve also heard that celery is good in them… definitely somethin gto think about! 😉

    xxoo
    Heather

  3. Jenny Says:

    woo can’t wait for the breakfast-filled post.. it is best meal of the day after all! 🙂

  4. Mitri Says:

    Looking forward to the breakfast-centric post, and that pasta bowl looks delish!

  5. Kailey Says:

    wow that vegan pizza with the GM is seriously rocking my boat 🙂 haha
    I love adding broccoli to my pizzas. im a weird child. hah

  6. Shelby Says:

    Porridge…that IS a cute name =)

  7. burpexcuzme Says:

    wow I LOVE breakfast, so I’m def excited!
    and easy-peasy kiwi sauce sounds fantastic, too!

  8. broccolihut Says:

    Ooh! I must try the zucchini addition to one of my smoothies! I was not such a fan of kale in my smoothies, but I bet zucchini would be very mild tasting.
    Can’t wait for the breakfast post!

  9. Ruth Says:

    I have been reading a lot of peoples blogs, talking about GM / green monster. What is this exactly? It’s making me want to try it and I don’t even know what it is 🙂

  10. Caroline Says:

    Hmm yeah, that last one was not my comment–SPAM!

Leave a Reply

