there was a very preoccupied girl…

sitting cross-legged on the floor of the cookbook section of barnes & noble yesterday (for about an hour and a half) going through a variety of vegan cookbooks. that girl is yours truly. i ended up getting 6 cookbooks, only because my grandma offered to reimburse me for the whole bunch. she’s always so generous. i love her so much (not just because she buys me things) and am so grateful for her! i officially own…

eat, drink & be vegan
the real food daily cookbook
the vegan table
vegan brunch
skinny bitch in the kitch

and
veganomicon

i can’t wait to pack these babies up and bring them to my new apartment come august! although, i’m surely going to be using them before then! i’m super excited! i didn’t own a single vegan cookbook (or any cookbook for that matter) before yesterday afternoon. so you can understand why i’m so full of joy right now. veganism has become such a passion of mine, and i can’t wait to make some fabulous dishes from these books! following recipes is so fun. last night in bed i looked extensively through vegan brunch and i’m in love. there are so many things that i already want to make. stepping back to earlier yesterday afternoon, this is what i ate for lunch:

IMG_2318

a slice of corn-grain bread, soy garbanzo dip for some spreading action, and eggplant pizza sliders

i love the corn-grain bread cold. it tastes much better that way, in my opinion. and it was the perfect side to my plate of little “pizzas.” these sliders were super delicious, and oh so simple to make! all i did was grill a few slices of eggplant, and then top them with organic pizza sauce and sautéed mushrooms and zucchini. scrumptious! they were a lot tastier than i expected them to be. and don’t they look cute?! veggies = love.

HAPPY HUMP-DAY!

P.S. soy garbanzo dip (serves 1) =
1/2 cup garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
3 tablespoons plain unsweetened soy milk
garlic salt (or regular sea salt) to taste
black pepper to taste
any other preferred flavors (i like italian seasoning)
**lemon juice in replace of some (maybe 1 tablespoon) of the soy milk would taste nice, but i didn’t have any on hand**
blend everything together in a food processor (or my bff, the magic bullet) and viola!

16 Responses to “there was a very preoccupied girl…”

  1. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    SOOO exciting with all those cookbooks. Aren’t grandparents great? 😉 Can’t wait to hear what you think of them!

    LOVING those pizza sliders! How exactly did you “grill” the eggplant? I’ve been looking for a way to use eggplant, and this definitely sounds fabulous!

    xxoo
    Heather

  2. psychoj1 Says:

    Aww how sweet of your grandma. Grandma’s are the best 🙂
    Enjoy those awesome cookbooks!

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  3. Meg Says:

    Soo jealous of all of those amazing cookbooks! I can’t wait to see some of the stuff you make 🙂 Grandma’s are so sweet!

    Those pizza sliders are too cute! Love em!

    Have a wonderful day!

    Love ya,
    Meg

  4. Jenny Says:

    buaha i am always that girl sitting cross legged in the book stores — you gotta test drive the car before you buy it, right?! *i think the phrase goes something like that ;)* sounds like you got your hands on some winners!

  5. specialkphd Says:

    I LOVE the the real food daily cookbook! Really good! and I want to meet my next lover sitting on the floor of a bookstore!
    If you like raw superfood bars, check out my giveaway!

  6. Kailey Says:

    Im no vegan, but I really love Vegan with a Vengeance! Her pancakes are amazing 😀

  7. Mitri Says:

    I love sitting in the cookbook section forever 😀

    Those eggplant pizza sliders look so fun!

  8. makingmymove Says:

    aww your grandma is a sweetheart! i LOVE barnes and noble — i could sit in there and entertain myself for hours upon hours! 🙂

    eggplant pizzas! SO brilliant, love those too 🙂

  9. Shelby Says:

    That is awesome to get all those cookbooks! I have all of them except the Vegan Table which I am hoping to get soon. love it!

  10. Emily Says:

    Hooray for new cookbooks! I can’t wait to see all of your wonderful creations. Gotta love Grandma. 🙂

  11. Ashley Says:

    Your Grandma sounds lovely (and generous!) All those cook books sound so good. I’ve always been curious about Skinny Bitch in the Kitchen. I read Skinny Bitch, and am in two minds about it (for example… fruit for breakfast? Not eating lunch until I’m starving? Err… no) That said, I like the kinds of food they advocate. Looking forward to seeing/stealing some of your recipes!!

    I love your corn-grain bread. It looks so yummy. And so do the eggplant pizzas! Eggplant is amazing, hey?

  12. maya Says:

    your grandma sounds so lovely! and i love all those books, love your recipes and that eggplant pizza! yum!

    thank you so so much for the amazing comments on my blog. you are such an amazing girl and i will def contact you 🙂

    love

    xo
    maya

  13. burpexcuzme Says:

    Haha, that would be me, too, except I’ll be poring through other cookbooks besides vegan, though I LOVE that Eat, drink, and Be Vegan cookbook! I can’t wait to see all the amazing things you whip up!

  14. broccolihut Says:

    Yay! You got ED&BV! Let me know if you want recipe suggestions:)
    I’ll def have to try that garbanzo dip–we all know how much I love blending things!

  15. sarahdbelle Says:

    How exciting! All those books look wonderful. I can’t wait to see what you make from them.
    Take care!
    Sarah

  16. get with the program, food network « cardioVEGsular Says:

    […] any of you can recommend a recipe(s) from the cookbooks listed in this post, i would love that! i’m having so much fun cooking! cookbooks are amazing. (and they help […]

Leave a Reply

