cookbook craze

i LOVE reading these cookbooks! how have i lived this long as a vegan without them? yesterday for lunch, with only a couple of minor changes, i made my mom and i the “green goddess pasta” from skinny bitch in the kitch. it was nothing short of IN.CRED.IB.LE. i used colorful kamut vegetable spirals. they’re so pretty! this pasta was garlicky, buttery, and full of perfectly tender veggies. need i say more?

IMG_2330

my mom asked me if she was allowed to put parmesean on hers since she’s not vegan, haha. so i said fiiiine. but then she tried a bite and didn’t even want the parmesean because she realized how incredilbly flavorful it is on its own! we both agreed that this was one of the best meals we’ve had in a while. if you have this cookbook…make this pasta! if you don’t have this cookbook…buy it, bitch!

dinner last night was “snobby joes” from veganomicon. yummy! i had a big bowl of it, along with a piece of toast and a strawberry-ginger green monster. after dinner, i realized that i should have had a slice of RFD‘s corn-grain bread that i baked the other day, instead of the ezekiel toast. it would have gone perfectly with the snobby joes! just like cornbread and chili.

IMG_2341

i’m going to have leftover snobby joes for lunch today. but not with a slice of corn-grain bread (even though i can’t wait to play matchmaker with those two.) this morning i made something else from VCON that i’m going to pair with it, but you’ll have to wait until tomorrow’s post to see what it is. it’s sitting in the fridge right now and i’m really excited to try it!

since i’ve stuck to my guns about saving this week’s breakfast photos (for sunday’s oaty recap post) i don’t have anything else to share with you today! on an entirely different note, my cold is finally starting to go away. it feels like it’s been forever. i still get kind of snotty at night (i’m not very squeamish, so sorry if that grosses you out) but at least my vicks inhaler is no longer glued to my nostrils, and i can go to bed without a box of tissues by my side. things are looking up! haha. i’m going to go have lunch now, and then meet up with HE (my bestest best friend, incase you haven’t heard me mention her before) to see the proposal.

have a fabulous @#$%ing friday, my friends. 😀

12 Responses to “cookbook craze”

  1. veganfritz Says:

    I could go for some of that pasta. willing to share?

  2. veganfritz Says:

    & note to sell: grab a copy of V’con

  3. psychoj1 Says:

    Glad you’re enjoying the cookbooks. That pasta dish does sound delish!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  4. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    Wow, that pasta looks great! What awesome colors! YUMMY!

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better! 🙂 Enjoy watching the Proposal.

    xxoo
    Heather

  5. Jenny Says:

    snobby joes.. how clever 🙂 It’s great to hear you’re loving the new cookbooks and I can’t wait to see all the delish meals you create with ’em!

  6. Shelby Says:

    The snobby joes are my FAVORITE recipe!!!

  7. Emily Says:

    Those snobby joes look like they have lentils…in which case, I’m sold! 😀

  8. Emily Says:

    Sounds like you are having tons of fun making delish recipes from your new cookbooks. I’ve always wanted to try snobby joes; they look really good!

    Glad you are feeling better, too!

  9. broccolihut Says:

    Hope you enjoyed the movie–I thought The Proposal was super cute.

  10. Neela Marijana Says:

    vecanomicon is the best stuff here! all their recipes are fabulous. have you tried the chickpea cutlets? oh boy i love love love them!!!
    have a beautiful weekend hun
    xx

  11. Mitri Says:

    Mmm Vicks Vapor… 😛 High class snot-relief.

  12. Kailey Says:

    oh goodness girlie I am so sorry I havent been commenting. I swear I put you on google reader, but I guess I didn’t.
    anyways, now that I fixed that problem, your pasta salad look so good 🙂

Leave a Reply

