get with the program, food network

‘ello there everybody! 😀

i didn’t post yesterday, but that’s okay because i think the porridge post deserved to stand on top for another day. i have some recent eats to show, so let’s get to it!

IMG_2378

1/2 cup oat bran, 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/2 cup water, 1/4 cup lite coconut milk, stevia, 1 scoop of my favorite almond butter

that scoop of almond butter wasted no time sinking into this creamy mug of oat bran. it just really wanted a warm bath, but trust me, that glob ran deep. i don’t blame it…i’d want to bathe in that creaminess too!

IMG_2390

shake: spinach, 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/2 cup rice milk, 1 packet vega protein powder (vanilla chai flavor)

porridge: 1/2 cup oat bran, 1 cup water, mulberries, fresh and juicy raspberries, 1 scoop pb, a little bit of stevia that i sprinkled on afterwards

yesterday i went on a nice walk before lunch. the weather was perfect. it was really warm, but there was a calm breeze. i love that type of weather. when i got home i didn’t know what to make for lunch, so i decided on a simple wrap. it felt like too small of a lunch, but i didn’t know what else to eat! i hate that. do you ever spend forever in the kitchen opening and re-opening the fridge, praying for an idea? so frustrating. the wrap was really yummy though. it contained black beans, chopped cherry tomatoes, cucumber, grated carrot, a touch of olive oil, dijon mustard, and some other flavorings. ketchup and more dijon mustard were at its side for dipping, of course.

IMG_2380

dinner last night was amazing! i made a curried soba noodle stir-fry adapted from the “curried udon noodle stir-fry” recipe in V’CON. i only made a few changes, so full credit definitely goes to V’CON for this super delightful dinner. it had a perfect curry flavor without being overpowering. my mom loved it too. the rest of the family ate bbq chicken, corn, and baked beans. boy did they miss out! i love ethnic flavors, especially curry. that’s right, this vegan has some international taste buds. 😉

IMG_2387

if any of you can recommend a recipe(s) from the cookbooks listed in this post, i would love that! i’m having so much fun cooking! cookbooks are amazing. (and they help with the not-knowing-what-to-make dilemma!)

rachel ray is on right now. i used to like watching her. but ever since i started watching giada and ina, i don’t like rachel very much. she’s sweet, but her food rarely sounds appetizing to me. don’t you think food network needs a vegan chef?! why don’t they already have one? i don’t think they even have a vegetarian chef. tisk tisk, food network.

have a wonderful tuesday, loves.

17 Responses to “get with the program, food network”

  1. peanutbutterandjenny Says:

    i used to be such a loyal rachel fan but i definitely agree — ever since i’ve expanded my FN viewing she’s not my fav! i LOVE ina!

  2. psychoj1 Says:

    I think it would be cool if they had a vegetarian chef. It could apply to lots of people out there and would get them more numbers. Come on FN, chop chop! 🙂

    Lovely eats! That wrap looks delicious! I totally do that. I can take forever to decide what I want.
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  3. Helen (Tales Over Tea) Says:

    The wrap looks perfectly wrapped 🙂 I do that a lot spend ages deciding what to make for a meal and then I get so hungry I end up doing beans on toast or something.

  4. veganfritz Says:

    yesyesyesyesyes. I would eat all of that up in a heartbeat. They are in dire need of a vegan chef. Raw foodist chef, eh…maybe a step too far. Bobby Flay is too carnivorous for my liking.

  5. Mitri Says:

    I’d love to see a vegan chef on FN!

    Love the porridge 😉 as always

  6. eliza Says:

    i used to LOVE the food network and watch the Rachel ray show every day 🙂 but i havent watched barely any tv in sooo long…
    LOVE your oats/porridge 😉 they look amazing.

    love you girly
    eliza

  7. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    Sounds like the perfect weather for a walk!!! I just love these summer days to get out and enjoy nature at its best. 🙂

    Personally, I think YOU would make a perfect vegan chef for the food network! Seriously, I would love to see a show like that. Awesome idea!

    xxoo
    Heather

  8. Sarah (LovIN My Tummy) Says:

    I totally agree that the Food Network needs a vegan/vegetarian/raw foods chef!!! How ’bout me?! Or you!

  9. Chocolate-Covered Katie Says:

    Mmmm that soba looks wonderful, girlie!

  10. Shelby Says:

    I’ve been saying that for over a year! FN NEEDS a vegan cook!

    I can’t stand pretty much everyone on the FN though…RR especially, then Ina. I really like Giada though, even if she does grate cheese over everything!

  11. Emily Says:

    Love your wrap! It sounds super creative and delish!

    I think the Food Network definitely needs at least a vegetarian chef! We should all write them letters!

  12. broccolihut Says:

    That happens to me occasionally too–I’m hungry, but completely uninspired as to what to make.
    I like Rach’s talk show, but I have to agree–I never make any of her dishes from her cooking show.

  13. Kailey Says:

    holy smokes that curried soba noodle stir fry looks amazing!!

  14. Neela Marijana Says:

    yay for curry in a hurry. i love curry. i always put in fage and add salt and pepper and some cucumber. its actually raita and indian dip used with naan bread. sorry i actually wasn’t intending to post a recipe here but to say how yummy your breakfast bowl look 🙂
    do you cook your porridge or do you make it in the microwave?
    xxx

  15. Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian) Says:

    YAY for finding your blog! thanks so much for your comment – i am LOVIN up on this post. coconut milk in oat bran? genius. must try that. that curried soba noodle stir-fry? I LOVE CURRY. i will come over and eat that with you anyday.

    have a fabulous day 🙂

  16. Katharina Says:

    Ooo I’ve been wanting to use my coconut milk. I was thinking about incorporating it into my oats, I also want to make a hot chocolate with it.. Yes it’s summertime and I’m in Florida but hot cocoa with coconut milk is fine by me anyday 😉

  17. Emily Says:

    I think if a vegan or vegetarian chef could get on Next Food Network STar, they would go far!

Leave a Reply

