V’CONathon

hey, beauties!

i went on a wonderful hike this morning. i didn’t take any pictures because my camera would have been too annoying to hold. my water bottle alone is enough baggage! and sometimes i think it’s nice to thoroughly enjoy something without feeling the need to document it. don’t get me wrong, i love photographs, but once in a while there are times when cameras aren’t needed. i usually don’t even take my ipod with me when i hike. nature has it’s own music. but if you want a little glimpse of natural beauty, here are a couple photos i took of the hiking trail right next to the college i’ll be going to. this park isΒ literally across the street from my school.

IMG_1954

IMG_1947

yep, my school is located in the middle of nature at its finest. so exciting! there are also some insanely beautiful beaches nearby. nature is so soothing for the soul. i really think there would be a lot less problems in the world if everyone were more involved with nature. just look at what happens to people when they’re cooped up behind walls for too long…

shining

“all work and no play makes jack a dull boy…”

speaking of dullness, i don’t have an exciting porridge picture today. why, you ask? because the cherry amaretto oatmeal i made yesterday was so good that i had the exact same bowl again today! i think i could eat it everyday! i don’t have any lunch photos either (went to real food daily with my mama) but i cooked up a complete v’con meal for dinner tonight! i even followed their directions for roasting the green beans. i think v’con is my favorite cookbook thus far.

IMG_2417

snobby joes, roasted green beans, a baked potato, and cheezy sauce

i got too full before being able to finish this meal (a rarity!) but i ate most of it, and it was guuuud. snobby joes + baked potato = TRY IT. the simple baked potato is so underrated. you could give me a baker with solely salt and pepper and i’d be happy with it! i’m not sure why i don’t make potato dishes more often.

this is going to be out of order now, but i forgot to mention the little smoothie i had for an afternoon snacky-poo Β today. it was a simple strawberry-mango combination, made with unsweetened almond milk and some stevia.

IMG_2413

in much more exciting news, i painted an oatmeal bowl at color me mine on sunday, and it was ready for pick-up today! isn’t it pretty? i can’t wait to serve me up some oaty goodness in it! i was supposed to paint something like a napkin holder or a spoon rest…something that i can use in my new kitchen…something that i’m actually going to need to get…something that i don’t already have for the apartment…but of course when i saw the big round bowls i couldn’t resist! oh, what oatmeal does to this mind of mine. goodbye logic, welcome thoughts about breakfast. do i think about anything else? i’m such a loser!

IMG_2408

IMG_2409

anyway, loves…i hope you all had a SUPERB thursday. sophisticated vocab, huh? i’m going to relax for the rest of the evening, catch up on blogs, watch some television, maybe put on a masque, possibly play some sims 3 (haha! dork.) and try to get into bed on the earlier side and read a bit. hopefully i’ll get some restful sleep tonight. these past couple of nights i’ve been waking up nonstop! so frustrating.

IMG_1293.JPG

if only i could sleep as peacefully as ollie does.

12 Responses to “V’CONathon”

  1. Katharina Says:

    Ohh I thought about going to one of those painting places! I was shopping and looking at all these cute bowls and I was thinking hmm I should just paint my own. ANYWAY, cherry amaretto oatmeal sounds DIVINE! I love amaretto and I put it in or on a lot of things. And as for those snobby joes, I’ve made them before.. and again and again.. you get the point πŸ˜‰ I love that recipe.

    Oh and I also leave my iPod at home when I go out in nature πŸ™‚ I just like to sink it all in, just me and the beauty that’s around.

  2. fearlessfabulousfulloflife Says:

    that is so cool your school is in the middle of nature! what beautiful pictures πŸ™‚ the cherry ameretto oatmeal sounds delish! and im loving the smoothie πŸ™‚

    have a great night xoxox

  3. Marina Says:

    Hi, I just came across your blog! How old is Ollie? I’ve got a youngin’, Peanut. πŸ™‚

  4. broccolihut Says:

    OOh I like your idea of putting Snobby Joes on a tater. I put chili on mine all the time, so I bet SJs would be excellent.
    LOVE your oatmeal bowl. Care to make me a matching one?!;)

  5. Helen (Tales Over Tea) Says:

    I agree we should all take advantage of what nature has to offer. As kids my Brother and I were always exploring the woods, ponds, parks etc, but now most of nature has been built over with housing and offices 😦
    Love the snobby joes and baked potato, I think I may make something similar myself.

  6. veganfritz Says:

    The Shining! creepy book & movie. & the bowl is great – I think in ways of what plating fits my food staples as well. Ollie is sooo my cat.

  7. Mitri Says:

    Lovely bowl πŸ™‚ Kind of looks like the colors of your smoothie! Oatmeal bowl = perfect choice, of course.

  8. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    That bowl is adorable!!! I would love to make one of those sometime! In art class at school, we once made our own pottery bowl and got to decorate it. It’s definitely fun to be a little creative! πŸ™‚

    xxoo
    Heather

  9. sarahdbelle Says:

    You did a great job on the bowl! It’s so pretty!
    Hope you have a great day!
    Sarah

  10. Emily Says:

    Ollie is adorable and that smoothie looks incredible!

  11. specialkphd Says:

    Paint me an oatmeal bowl! I smell a “giveaway” idea! I LOVE it!

  12. Jenny Says:

    ah those pictures are breathtaking πŸ™‚ there is nothing more gorgeous that nature — just natural, untouched beauty!

    that oatmeal bowl is lovely! you should consider selling some.. i’d pay mad dough for one πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

