a very blah day

iiiiiiiiiit’s SUNDAY!

i just love sundays. i see them as such peaceful, stress-free days to do whatever i feel like doing. but today has been so…blah. but i slept a lot better last night than i have been, so that’s a major plus. i woke up this morning and did some much-needed stretching. stretching always makes me feel fabulous afterwards. i recently downloaded a free 20 minute class from yogadownload.com, so maybe i’ll try that out tonight or tomorrow. one of my biggest (and toughest) goals right now is to become less tense, both physically and emotionally. it’s a very high goal for someone like me, who’s naturally a very anxiety-ridden person. ollie stretches all the time.

IMG_2447

inspiration? haha.

yesterday during my lunch break from cashiering at the competition, i packed myself dinner to bring back to work, since i don’t get a dinner break. i tossed soba noodles, navy beans, and sauteed spinach with a touch of olive oil, fresh lemon juice, sea salt, and black pepper.

IMG_2440

i know i said that i would try to take pictures of some of the body builders, but i left my camera at home…like i usually do whenever i mean to bring it along! i’m so forgetful sometimes! but you can just google “body builder” and get enough of an eyeful. yucky! i work at one more competition in august. that’s the last one i’ll be helping out at…because i’m moving away for college in onlyΒ 4 weeks! anywho, back to today. after stretching and then reading up on some blogs, i made myself a comforting sunday morning breakfast.

IMG_2443

1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, raisins, sliced banana, 1 scoop cacao bliss, 1 scoop almond butter, drizzle of light coconut milk

the almond butter i buy is raw, and i love it with all of my heart. i’ve been buying it for a really long time, and i can’t see myself ever switching to anything else. it’s super expensive though. so i’m starting to wonder if i could make my own almond butter, and have it turn out just as good. if anyone has any tips for making nut butters, i’m all ears!

the weather today has been beautiful, and i took a relaxing walk after pampering myself a bit after breakfast. i love face masques! for lunch today i put a little spin on the vegan table’s “no queso quesadilla” recipe. i LOVED the flavors of the hummus and the salsa together when i followed this recipe the last time, so i wanted to combine them again. i topped two mini sprouted tortillas with the last of the hummus i made the other day, some salsa, some chopped scallions, and a few dashes of hot sauce. i folded these up when i ate them. REALLY YUM. on the side i had a salad with spinach, artichoke hearts, black olives, and grated carrot, tossed in italian herb dressing.

IMG_2444

IMG_2446

a little while ago i finished a glorious bowl of fruit for my afternoon snack. a chopped yellow peach generously sprinkled with cinnamon, and some red grapes i just bought at the co-op. this bowl was juicy, fresh, ripe, and delicious. cinnamon is my all time favorite spice, hands down. and it tastes amazing on a sliced peach!

IMG_2452

even though i love sundays, i’ve had a rather boring day today. i wish i felt like calling it relaxing instead of boring, but i’ve been feeling a little bit stir-crazy. i think i might to go visit HE at work now, and then come home and make dinner. my favorite show (TRUE BLOOD) is on tonight and my friend HF is coming over later to watch it with me. we’re obsessed. i hope you all enjoy the rest of your sunday!

12 Responses to “a very blah day”

  1. Mitri Says:

    Mmm soba noodles. I rarely get to have them though!

    Hope you get a great night’s sleep and find Monday a tad more exciting πŸ˜‰

  2. veganfritz Says:

    Hah, I love how Ollie keeps it real. Just some points:
    -soba noodles make me happy
    -spinach makes me happy
    -raw almond butter & cacao bliss hohyeah. that makes me happy
    -hummus is yummus. yeah, it makes me happy
    -artichoke hearts, there’s the good stuff. Makes me happy
    -I make my own nut butter on occasion, just place the raw nuts in a food processor and send it on a whirl-a long whirl. You can roast them as well of coarse. A little almond or walnut oil might help the process along if the processor isn’t up to par.
    -True Blood…hah, we don’t get HBO. However, I don’t watch much television anyway. Have fun with that P:
    Um, s’bout it.
    peace out girl scout

  3. fearlessfabulousfulloflife Says:

    LOVE sundays!! soba noodles are sooo yummy! so glad you had a nice relaxing and sunny day! xoxox

  4. broccolihut Says:

    I just discovered raw almond butter a few weeks ago, and you’re right–it’s pretty amazing. I’d be interested in learning how to make my own too!

  5. Neela Marijana Says:

    haha what a coincidence. just as i am reading this blog i am trying my first raw alond butter. i have had almond butter tons of times but i found raw ones last week and had my first try with bread today. i am so hooked so i cant totally relate to your obsession πŸ™‚
    xxx

  6. Helen (Tales Over Tea) Says:

    Snap I had a very blah day too πŸ™‚ Although yours sounds like a more productive, enjoyable day. Thanks for the tips on relieving boredom by the way.

  7. Emily Says:

    Gotta love Sundays! πŸ˜€

    You should totally give Kale Chips a try! I line a baking sheet with foil and sprayed it with PAM. Then I used about 2-3 stalks of Kale and ripped off bite/chip-sized pieces. Spread across the baking sheet and give a liberal spray of PAM and a hearty sprinkling of Mrs. Dash Table Blend (or whatever!). Slide into a 375* oven for 11-15 minutes (Try one at 11 minutes and see if you like it or if you want it crispier!). That’s it! Enjoy!

    By the way, the original recipe is here:
    http://www.katheats.com/favorite-foods/kale-chips/

  8. Shelby Says:

    Raw almond butter is the shizzzz!

  9. Jenny Says:

    your kitty is one talented little yogini — looks like he (she?!) could hook me up with some tips!

    hope you enjoy that yogadownload class!

    have a very happy monday, sweetheart xo

  10. Kailey Says:

    wow thats so exciting to be leaving for college in four weeks!! Love the oats . I so agree raw almond butter is amazing!

  11. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    Trust me, I know the “stir-crazy” feeling! πŸ˜‰ Sounds like you had a nice day though. Yoga always helps keep me centered and relaxed!

    LOVING that fruit salad. That cinnamon was such a great idea!

    Your giveaway package is on it’s way… I had my mom drop it off at the post office this morning. πŸ™‚

    xxoo
    Heather

  12. psychoj1 Says:

    Sorry you’re feeling so blah! Love your eats. Raw almond butter looks like it melts great!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

