YAY for ARAME!

good day lovies!

i hope monday hasn’t been too rough on any of you.

πŸ™‚

i actually love mondays. i enjoy the feeling of having a full week of potential ahead of me…even though i live a rather uneventful life! is it weird that i like weekdays more than weekends? i guess i’m just the type of person who likes routine, which can be both a good and bad characteristic at times. my younger brother thinks i’m such an old lady. haha. i kind of am. anyway, monday morning workouts put me in a good mood. i’m always happy to get back to routine and work up a sweat after having taken a break on the weekend. i do go for the occasional saturday or sunday workout, but usually i use the weekends to give my body a rest. another reason why i like my weekday routine: breakfast always seems to taste better after a workout and a shower. this morning i had dark chocolate-almond oat bran. delicious!

IMG_2467

1/2 cup oat bran, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, 2 teaspoons cocoa powder, 1 packet stevia, a generous sprinkle of cinnamon, 1 big scoop raw almond butter

i am going to be changing my routine soon, though. but i’m okay with that, because i’m super excited for the near future. in just 4 weeks from today, my mom and i will be road-tripping it to my new apartment. college time! details will definitely be shared when the big moment comes! πŸ˜€

speaking of change, in yesterday’s post i mentioned how i really want to become less tense. today i tested out that 20 minute download from yogadownload.com. about halfway through it, i began to have a hard time following along…so i’m ashamed to say that i stopped there. i’m no yogi, and i think i need clearer instructions. i’m going to try it again though, and keep practicing. everyone has to start off somewhere. it’s not as if i’m programmed to be able to do everything perfectly when i’m only a beginner. a few stumbles and wrong moves here and there will help me learn.

let’s move onto my ass-kicking lunch now, okay? it was so good! first just look at the pictures and then i’ll list what this wonderful meal consisted of.

IMG_2468

IMG_2470

-brown rice, which i seasoned with sea salt and black pepper after taking these photos.
-arame with soy sauce and dulse.
-grated carrot, grated zucchini, thinly sliced red bell pepper, and sliced grape tomatoes, tossed in maple-mustard dressing from v’con.

i drizzled a spoon of raw tahini over all of this. YUMMERS.Β on the side i drank a thing of refreshing coconut water. love this stuff, even though i usually don’t drink liquids while i eat (aside from my green tea with breaky. oh, and sometimes green monsters too.)Β about the maple-mustard dressing…i made it last night and put it in the fridge. when i went to use it today it was way thick. i had to stir a knife around the bottle to get some out. do you think that’s because i chose to use coconut oil? that would make sense, because coconut oil hardens when it’s cold. if you have a comment to make about this, please do! on another topic, i’m currently soaking some raw cashews to make the “sweet cashew cream” from vegan brunch. i’ll let you know in tomorrow’s post how it turns out! i plan on having it with fruit for my afternoon snack today. sounds tasty, doesn’t it?

enjoy the rest of this monday! and if you’ve never had it before…go buy some arame! and dulse too! you’ll thank me later!

16 Responses to “YAY for ARAME!”

  1. Special K Says:

    I HATED yoga when I first tried it out…so give yourself some time to adjust. Think of it like teaching yourself how to ride a bike, or run. You won’t run 60 minutes the first week! Go easy on yourself, girl!

  2. Baylee Says:

    I also love mondays! a nice fresh start to a new week! πŸ™‚ and i ALSO like weekdays alot more than weekends – i also dont have much going on right now, so its easy to develop some type of routine during the week – but then once the weekend roles around, im just like uggggh!

    love the smorgusboard of yummyness!

  3. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    I’m totally with you on the whole Monday thing. I’ve always said that Monday is my favorite day of the week. I just love the feeling of a brand new week ahead of me! πŸ™‚

    Don’t get too discouraged about the yoga. I think you really have to be in the right mood to do an entire practice, so maybe that just wasn’t your thing today. Keep trying, and I know you’ll find your inner yogi yet. πŸ˜‰

    xxoo
    Heather

  4. Shelby Says:

    I didn’t like yoga at first either! It took me a while to find a good DVD that I liked. I also don’t like yoga download! I like seeing what I will be doing, not just listening.

  5. veganfritz Says:

    I am very routine-oriented myself. I don’t fret a lot if it’s disrupted because I have a pretty good coping mechanism of shaking it off.
    Um, I don’t think there’s any way around coconut oil hardening.
    & Arame and dulse are the shiz.

  6. Mitri Says:

    That’s a great outlook for Mondays πŸ™‚ Like you said, I love the potential & how the weekday provides more structure.

    The first few times I tried yoga from this picture-based book I bought, I also couldn’t get into it. “Too slow. Where is the workout?” But this summer I’ve given it a second chance, and I’ve noticed how much stronger and leaner my muscles feel. In time you may find that for yourself!

  7. Jenny Says:

    it sounds like there is so much excitement ahead of you :)! are you moving in to an apartment by yourself or do you have a roommate?! I am jealous, girl!

    have an amazing Monday, babe! xo

  8. Michal Mymo Says:

    mmm your eats today looks totally delish. πŸ™‚ your bowl of oats looks especially yummy!

    Michal

  9. Jess Says:

    I’m so excited for you! I bet you’ll love college and what lies ahead. Congrats!

    Mmm loving your eats, esp. that delish oatbran!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  10. Jessica Says:

    I agree, Monday is a great day. It’s the beginning of a new week when I get to plan out everything I’m going to do haha. Yay for old ladies!

    Your lunch looks absolutely delicious!

    Let us know all about your new apartment. It’s an exciting time for sure πŸ™‚ And thanks for the review of yogadownload, I’ve been meaning to check that out!

  11. broccolihut Says:

    I’m a total old lady too: my hobbies are reading and cooking; I might even have a teapot collection. I thrive on routine too!
    That lunch is super kick-ass. Come cook for me?

  12. Neela Marijana Says:

    holy moly, your lunch looks really good. and trust me i know what you are talking about when you say buy some dulse and arame!!! had it before. delishious!!!
    sorry to hear the yoga didn’t go to well. try going to a class maybe that will work better for you. or maybe you just are not a yoga person. i still haven’t quite figured out what i am :s
    have a lovely tuesday
    xx

  13. Ada Says:

    I am definitely an old lady as well! I love routines but I know I should occasionally mix things up a bit. That arame looks incredible! I always have it in restaurants but I’ve never been brave enough to prepare it at home. I just might now that I have seen you do it;)

  14. Helen (Tales Over Tea) Says:

    I don’t mind Mondays once I’ve got out of bed and got to work. I think it’s the whole having to get up early thing for me.

    I’ve just started doing the Yoga download 20min class myself and I found it hard to begin with, but I’ve been doing it for a week now and I’m getting used to it and hoping to try some newer classes now. I think if you stick with it and get more confident with it you’ll love it. πŸ™‚

  15. Emily Says:

    I have only tried yoga once and I didn’t like it either….maybe I should try it again!

    Mondays are nice! A new week! πŸ˜€ Then again, once school starts, I won’t like mondays so much! haha

  16. Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian) Says:

    you are such a gourmet – that dinner looks AMAZING! i keep hearing about dulse and arame…now i need to get my buns to whole foods and buy some. yummy eats as always – breakfast too!

    i love mondays as well – “dwell in possibility” is one of my fave quotes. you just never know where the week will take you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

