a shopping mood and some photos of food

good morning! i’m going shopping with my wonderful grandma today! yay! we’re going to look for things for my new apartment, mainly kitchen appliances, as well as some weather-appropriate clothing for where i’m moving to! it’s chillier up there than it is here in L.A. i have warm clothes, but i need some more heavy-duty stuff like thicker coats and other such cozy thangs (if we can even find clothes for cold weather in july!) at least kitchen appliances aren’t seasonal! phew! but even if i don’t end up getting a lot of wintery clothing, shopping with her is the best! did i mention that she’s a former model? she was a coca-cola girl at one point, and there used to be an old-fashioned ad of her hanging in one of the johnny rocket restaurants over here. kind of cool, right? not that i drink coke, or eat at johnny rocket’s. anywho, my grandma is such a gorgeous person, inside and out. i’m also excited for today because we’re going to have lunch at real food daily. yum. she’s never been! now that i’ve ever so effortlessly transitioned to the topic of food, let’s get onto yesterday’s eats (aside from breakfast, because that was included in yesterday’s post.)

IMG_2513

-massaged kale salad: kale, sea salt, raw corn, grape tomatoes, sprinkle of black pepper, nutritional yeast, scoop of gena’s zucchini hummus
-a 7 sprouted grain ezekiel english muffin drizzled with a teensy bit of olive oil, and sprinkled with sea salt and black pepper
-balsamic vinegar for dipping the english muffin in

IMG_2516

partially frozen grapes (couldn’t wait, hehe) layered with gena’s raw whipped cream. this stuff is TO DIE FOR. (only not, because i want to live to eat it again!) my mom is in love with it too. she wants me to whip her up a batch sometime!

IMG_2519

-steamed broccoli drizzeled with ginger miso wasabi dressing
-millet sprinkled with sea salt and black pepper (my favorite way to season grains…as you’ve probably realized by now)
-a simple endive and raw red bell pepper salad, dressed in the dressing from v’con that’s actually meant for the corn and edamame-sesame salad (it’s just toasted sesame oil, brown rice vinegar, and soy sauce)

well, my loves, that concludes yesterday’s eats. wish me shopping luck! i still can’t believe i’m moving so soon. i’m going to miss being near my family! i’ve never lived away from home before. it’s both exciting and scary. i’m soooo nervous…in a good way. but i just know that there will be a lot of tears during homesick moments. let’s not think about that right now though, because at the moment i’m giddy about the future! so peace, love, and a great day to all of you! πŸ™‚

13 Responses to “a shopping mood and some photos of food”

  1. Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian) Says:

    oh my gosh…your grandma sounds soooo cute! i love grandmas πŸ™‚

    good luck with all the moving – although scary, that is going to be so fun, exciting and adventurous! as long as your eats stay delish, i don’t care where you go πŸ™‚

  2. Kailey Says:

    aww I hope you have tons of fun with your grandma πŸ™‚ They are the best, aren’t they?

  3. Mitri Says:

    Since it sounds like you’ll have a great place to stay with a fun roommate (not to mention all the opportunities of a college campus), I think you will find that moving away is not as scary as you think. πŸ™‚

  4. Katharina Says:

    I think you’ll do fine on your own πŸ™‚ It’s hard at first, but atleast your parents won’t be too far away, right? Just remember that they’ll always be there for you, and don’t take that forgranted. I know I did for awhile, and I was just making my life much harder than what it needed to be.

    Good luck shopping πŸ˜€

    p.s. I love what you did with the English muffin. I love balsamic vinegar, cracked pepper, and olive oil. Now I want to bake some bread! OH! Frozen grapes are awesome hehee

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  5. peanutbutterandjenny Says:

    god luck shopping, girlie! I think you’ll be just fine finding warm clothes — i just got a magazine for victorias secrets FALL LINE! ahhh. can time stop going by so fast, please?!

  6. specialkphd Says:

    I too love balsamic vinegar, made from grapes…
    I told my 17 year old sis last night, that I only found me by moving away from the “we.” You will find the same, I am sure!

  7. Shelby Says:

    Your food is so healthy and delicious looking! I love Gena’s Whipped Cream! Its the best. And your simple veggie meals are lookin mouthwatering!

  8. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    Hooray for shopping. Go a little crazy girl! πŸ™‚

    That whipped cream and frozen grape mix looks so good! Definitely a great summer treat.

    xxoo
    Heather

  9. Neela Marijana Says:

    your grandma sounds like a wonderful person. what i love most about my grandma is that she is so rooted. she is so confident in her own body and really shines like a sun. i am sure your gramdma is the same.
    i am so loving your lunch one again. your probably the most creative cook out there. i love the idea of the muffin with olive oil and sea salt. so yummy. i have to try that πŸ™‚
    have a good day shopping beautiful while i’m off to uni!! (not fair at all!!!!)
    xxx

  10. Ada Says:

    Have fun shopping with your Grandma!!! Grandma+Kitchen appliance shopping sounds like the perfect day to me;)

  11. Gena (Choosing Raw) Says:

    Jen Jen Jen! I am so beside myself that you’ve enjoyed the hummus and other recipes. I love checking out your raw eats — keep it up!

    ❀ Gena

  12. psychoj1 Says:

    Enjoy shopping! So exciting πŸ˜€

    Raw Zucchini hummus sounds fantastic!!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  13. burpexcuzme Says:

    Don’t be scared, be excited! It’s an exciting new time to be independent! I can’t wait for my own moving-out day! (though I WOULD def miss my parents like crazy!)
    And haha, I LOVE shopping for kitchen appliances…don’t you?

Leave a Reply

