the return of oats…dun dun dunnnn

in the form of soaked oat groats! i soaked oat groats for the first time last night, blended them in the food processor this morning, and LOVED them straight up. i thought i was maybe going to need to sweeten them a tad…but no. i love their naturally earthy flavor. i also love their chewy consistency. this is my new favorite way to eat oats! i had them along with some cinnamon banana ss, and half of a chocolate cherry jocalat bar. can you say delicious? if you’re a cinnamon person like i am, i highly recommend adding it in the next time you whip up some of gena’s banana soft serve. this serving was made with about 1 1/3 banana, incase anyone is wondering how many frozen bananas i typically use. i froze them in thirds the last time i put a container of them in the freezer, and used 4 pieces today. i think it’s the perfect amount for me.

IMG_2537

on the topic of raw foods, obviously i have been eating more of them in the past few days. i just want to say that i’m not trying to transition into a raw food lifestyle. i don’t even know much about the movement. i’m simply fascinated by raw foodism right now, and am trying to eat more raw/partially raw meals. i’m just having some fun with it, that’s all! is this just a phase? maybe. but if i truly find a passion for preparing raw food, it might be something that sticks with me. i’m not going to pressure myself to eat mostly raw, as i love cooked grains and veggies and other non-raw foods, but incorporating more raw foods into my diet can only be a good thing. so i just thought that i would tell you why i’m all of a sudden interested in eating raw. to sum it all up, i’m not subtracting cooked foods, i’m just adding raw foods. i love cooked food, and probably always will, so it’s not going anywhere! and i’m still obsessed with my vegan cookbooks. there are tons of amazing sounding recipes that i have yet to make!

speaking of cookbooks, my grandma had a copy of nomi shannon’s “the raw gourmet” that she no longer wanted, and she gave it to me yesterday! i can’t wait to make some recipes from that as well! it also gives tips on soaking, something that i’ve only recently been curious about. it’s a cool book! the soups look particularly appetizing.

c2e799d9eb141b8ace20a722f3c24e54.image.238x312

i’ll probably be back later today with another post, but if not, have a fantastic friday and i’ll be back tomorrow! love you all! to heather and erik, thank you again for guiding me through my first soaked groats experience! obviously it was very successful! πŸ™‚

10 Responses to “the return of oats…dun dun dunnnn”

  1. veganfritz Says:

    Ironic. I was seriously just about to post about raw foodists. I, like you am not ready/able to make a step into this full force but I do know that raw foods are what I want for myself in the future.

    Groats, Therreee GREAAATT. hah. glad to hear they were successful.

  2. Shelby Says:

    I think I’m going through the same thing right now, but I’m not sure its a phase. I used to do raw days but right now I feel I will keep this up. I’m not afraid of fats anymore (which was always an issue) and this lifestyle helps me so much with body image.

    I love oat groats! Now you have to try Oatgurt!

  3. keri410 Says:

    Oh good luck with the raw food tries! I have been curious as to how my body would react to that as my entire diet… but like you I don’t think I would WANT to. I love things cooked hot out of the oven or off the stovetop! Might have to experiment like you sometime!

  4. Mitri Says:

    Hmm I never thought of using the banana soft serve with my oats… nor putting cinnamon into it. I LOVE CINNAMON!!! Excellent idea πŸ™‚

    I support your interest in raw foods! Like you said, I think it is good to incorporate more of them while not feeling restricted to *only* raw foods. Do what’s best for you!

  5. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    I’m with you on the raw foods. It definitely interests me, and I have been eating more and more that way. I don’t think I’d get to the point where I’d define myself as any certain eating style, but it’s definitely a healthy lifestyle to aim for!

    xxoo
    Heather

  6. Katharina Says:

    Oo that’s a good idea – freezing the bananas in 1/3s rather than the whole banana πŸ˜€ Plus one banana just isn’t enough. Oat groats sound interesting and I LOVE cinnamon! Have a wonderful Friday too, lovely lady!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  7. peanutbutterandjenny Says:

    hmm what exactly are oat groats?! you know i’m a fan of anything with “oats” in the name so i’m definitely intrigued!!

  8. psychoj1 Says:

    I want to try oat groats so badly! Yours sound and look amazinggg!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  9. broccolihut Says:

    Wow that breakfast sounds fab. Where do you get oat groats?
    I am kind of in a raw food phase now too–I had way too much fun going through Gena’s old posts yesterday afternoon. I’m not planning on going raw either, it’s just fun and so easy to do in the summertime!

  10. Heather Eats Almond Butter Says:

    JB,
    So glad your oat groats turned out so yummy – loved the addition of banana soft serve + cinnamon. Did you know that tomorrow (Sunday) is Non-dairy ice-cream day? I think we should all celebrate with lots of banana SS!!! πŸ™‚

    I’m the same with raw foods – the recipes have always fascinated me. I love my cooked oats and veggies, but I also love experimenting with raw meals. So fun, and I think it’s really cool that your grandmother owned a raw foods cookbook.

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

