truth be told

helloooo there, my friends.

i’m thinking of heading to bed early tonight. i know, who starts getting ready for bed at 9:00 on a friday night? me when i’m this tired! but in defense of my old-lady-ness, an enormous span of time tends to pass between when i say i’m going to get ready for bed, and when i actually get into bed. so i probably won’t be all cuddled up for at least an hour. but before i leave my laptop for make-up remover and dental floss, i’m going to write a quickie post.

i was going to watch that movie “the boy in the striped pajamas” last night, but ended up not. then today, my mom and i had a plan to see “my sister’s keeper” only to find out that it’s not playing anywhere near us anymore. what’s the deal with that? didn’t it just come out? point is, i guess a dose of motion picture sadness wasn’t in store for me. but a dose of comedy was most definitely had this afternoon! my mom and i decided to see “the ugly truth” since our former plan wasn’t doable. i’m picky when it comes to romantic comedies. i love them, but hate when they get too stupid. i recommend this one, though! a little bit of raunchiness, lots of laughs, witty lines, sexiness…mmmmhmmm. anyway, let’s move onto some eats now.

IMG_2540

> halved grape tomatoes, a flourless 7 sprouted grains english muffin drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt and black pepper, balsamic vinegar for dipping
> grated carrot and zucchini tossed in lemon juice and a drizzle of agave, surrounding a scoop of homemade guacamole adapted from nomi shannon’s “guacamole for one” recipe

IMG_2543

> an onion, japanese eggplant, and mushroom stir-fry flavored with curry and ginger
> 1/2 of a humungous sweet potato sprinkled with sea salt and black pepper

this post wasn’t as quick as i planned it to be. who am i kidding when i say i’m going to write a quickie post? i always find a way to drag things on (e.g. by giving you a movie review!) but bed is sounding awfully wonderful right now, so i think i’m going to clean myself up, get some groats soaking, and do some reading from “the raw gourmet” and/or watch a little t.v from under the covers. on some nights my life seems like one big party, doesn’t it?! nighty night!

bedbug_cartoon

don’t let the bed bugs bite! [[i’m such an effing grandma. and that’s the ugly truth, right?!]]

5 Responses to “truth be told”

  1. Mitri Says:

    haha well, don’t feel bad. I, uh, actually tend to go to bed between 9 and 10 almost EVERY night…

    How did you cook your eggplant? Just in the stirfry pan? I’ve had bad luck with cooking eggplants thoroughly enough in the past 😦

  2. psychoj1 Says:

    Don’t feel so old! Between working at a camp and basketball, I have been going to bed around then. It’s so weird bc I used to be such a late nighter. Now I’m the first to bed 😛
    love those eats!!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  3. veganfritz Says:

    Yeah, between 9 and 10 p.m. is me as well. If I stay up ’till one with friends I’m usually pretty gone the next day. I really want some avocado for some guac action but the last few times I’ve gone to acquire them they’ve looked funky ): I’m craving it.

  4. Shelby Says:

    Don’t even worry! 9pm is my bedtime on days when I have to work in the morning, 10:30 is the latest I usually stay up.

  5. peanutbutterandjenny Says:

    girlie no shame — i go to bed early on friday nights all the time 😉 whatev!

    i am dying to see see the ugly truth — HELLOOOOOO GERARD BUTLER! such a stud muffin 🙂 and i love katherine heigel ❤ talk about an all star cast!

Leave a Reply

