break that fast

did you know that the word “breakfast” is a reference to the breaking of the fast we experience during sleep? it sounds pretty obvious now that i look at the word, but i actually only learned this like…last week i think. haha. well, this morning i ended my period of food absence with an amazing breakfast! so instead of waiting to include it in a longer post, i’m just going to show it to you now. πŸ˜‰

IMG_2578

soaked groats blended with cinnamon and a few slices of that beautiful yellow peach i froze yesterday, banana ss, the last of my cacao bliss, a scoop of raw almond butter

this was a very filling breakfast. some days i’m only in the mood for a breakfast on the lighter side, and other days (like today) my body wants more. gotta listen to it! i had a great workout this morning and needed to refuel! this meal definitely hit the spot. i hope you all broke your fast with something yummy this morning, and are having a veryΒ merry monday so far. rhyme and alliteration in one sentence?! A+

and before i forget…

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR SHELBY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!

that was corny. i’ve always had an awkward relationship with the birthday song. i hope you have a fabulous 17th birthday today, shelby! your blog is one of the first i started following when i became vegan, and i’ve loved it from the beginning! you’re inspiring, creative, funny, and not to mention…molto belle! you better have some amazing birthday eats today. because you deserve to, baby!

vegan-birthday-card

and one more thing: for those of you who asked where i bought the quinoa-corn pasta…whole foods! my home away from home. two of my other favorites are brown rice pasta and soba noodles. try them out if you haven’t already!

9 Responses to “break that fast”

  1. veganfritz Says:

    goodly groats & quinoa pasta is awesome. I’ve had the normal pasta before and it turned out great and once I got adventurous and picked up some quinoa squiggly pasta that was pretty much the best I’ve had. (I like your rhetorical devices.)

  2. Chocolate-Covered Katie Says:

    Mmmm soba!!!

  3. peanutbutterandjenny Says:

    very interesting breakfast fact — i had no idea, but i suppose it makes perfect sense! thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  4. Shelby Says:

    Awww, your going to make me cry! You are so sweet hun! =)
    Thank you so much for the birthday wishes!!! ❀

  5. Emily Says:

    I wish my WF as closer! I would be there ALL the time!

    LOVE LOVE your breakfast! Holy Moley! πŸ˜€

  6. psychoj1 Says:

    Love your breakfast! Mmm AB is yummy!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  7. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    So neat about where the name “breakfast” came from. I never heard that before!

    Another reason for me to be totally jealous of everyone who has a Whole Foods near them. πŸ˜‰

    xxoo
    Heather

  8. Mitri Says:

    Your breakfast looks creamy good 😎 I expect no less.

  9. Katharina Says:

    I agree, your breakfast looks so good! I have yet to try the cacao bliss. Oh gosh I just imagined that with the banana soft serve. I haven’t tried oatgroats either, but one day I will. Did you get them from a bulk bin? Next time I go to the healthfood store I’m gonna check to see if they’ve got that pasta πŸ˜€

    I can’t wait to break the fast tomorrow hahaha

Leave a Reply

