a magic death

oh magic bullet, how i way overuse thee.

today for my afternoon snack, i thought i’d make a fruit slush and top it with some frozen grapes. into the magic bullet i put some frozen mango chunks, a chopped plum that i froze last night, and some unsweetened almond milk. blend, blend, blend…and i notice it’s kind of leaking. blend, blend, blend…why is it leaking?! blend, blend, blend…what’s that weird noise? blend, blend, blend…un-screw lid…oh, that’s why. the base of the magic bullet, which also holds the blade, has a rubber liner that goes around the edge. apparently that little rubber liner wasn’t pushed in tightly enough, because it came out and got blended into my slush. buh-bye slush, down the sink you go. what a waste! and R.I.P. essential component of magic bullet. 😦

so i decided to make frozen fruit cereal instead. i used unsweetened almond milk because it’s what i have in the fridge right now, but this would have been so much better with rice milk or some light coconut milk. i forgot that i don’t really like almond milk straight up. but this was still tasty!

IMG_2595

frozen mango, frozen grapes, unsweetened almond milk, cinnamon, shredded coconut

this was such a random post. tomorrow i’ll write about the dinner i had at real food daily tonight (yum, yum, yum!) good night! πŸ™‚

11 Responses to “a magic death”

  1. Neela Marijana Says:

    aww sorry to hear about your tragedy today but thankfully the day was saved by frozen friuts πŸ˜‰
    xxx

  2. broccolihut Says:

    Bummer about the MB–I had the EXACT same thing happen to me. Good thing I have a spare;) I highly recommend getting a hand blender though–I use mine all the time!

  3. Mitri Says:

    Frozen fruit cereal is a pretty inventive way to save face ;P

  4. Katharina Says:

    Frozen grapes are amazing AND the shredded coconut looks so cute and funky lol. I hope this doesn’t happen to my roomie’s magic bullet. That thing is so convenient!

    XO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  5. Shelby Says:

    Too bad about the MB!!! I’ve never had one but I want one, hopefully you can get it replaced asap!

  6. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    Aww, sorry to hear the snack didn’t work out as planned, but at least you were able to create a new one that looks just as delicious!

    Can’t wait to hear about the dinner. πŸ™‚

    xxoo
    Heather

  7. Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian) Says:

    RIP magic bullet. i love that thing. i hope you buried her properly.

    but…that fruit cereal looks sooo good. i saw that on someone else’s blog too – a nice low-carb dish πŸ˜‰

  8. veganfritz Says:

    buhbyebullet

  9. peanutbutterandjenny Says:

    frozen fruit cereal?! dang — fruit loops ain’t got nothin’ on you girlfriend!

  10. MarathonVal Says:

    Hi there, I’m glad I found your blog! I saw your comment on CCK about oat groats…… I just sent out a twitter about how i just bought some and have no clue what to do with them, haha.

    I’m incorporating more high-raw into my diet and so I would love to find a way to prepare them w/o cooking them – perhaps into a desert, my fave? πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for any tips!

  11. Nora Says:

    MMM I loveee frozen grapes! They’re like nature’s popsicles. I’ve recently enjoyed frozen watermelon chunks too! You just have to thaw them for a couple of min..

Leave a Reply

