three out of five

yep, i did another yoga sesh today and loved it again! so that’s 3/5 of the series that i’ve done now. today i did the power beauty sweat dvd. even though i didn’t sweat, it did get me a little heated! i think i let out enough sweat during my workout this morning, anyway. i recently upped my cardio. it feels great! after coming home from the gym and showering, i made the breakfast of all breakfasts! holy foodie heaven, this was INCREDIBLE!

IMG_2589

groats, fresh strawberries and blueberries, 1 banana’s worth of ss, COCONUT BUTTER

boy i’m in love with this coconut butter. see that puddle of it in the banana ss? i did that so it would freeze up. yummers! and believe it or not, but there ARE some soaked groats underneath all those blueberries, haha. and some more strawberries are hidden too! i don’t think i need to say anything else about this bowl of bliss. the picture says it all. i enjoyed it while finishing the bachelorette finale from last night.

*if you didn’t watch the show, you can ignore this entire paragraph below.*

what a joke! they dragged it on for far too long, and it was so dumb. i’m going to call this now, so that one day when he comes out of the closet i can say that i said it first…ED IS GAY! not that i don’t love gay guys with…actually…a rather large portion of my heart, but ed just seems so fake to me. and for some reason i just get a gay vibe from him! i’m not exactly sure why. maybe it’s all the pink shirts, the way he crosses his legs when he sits, how supposedly there was no chemistry between him and jillian in the bedroom, how quickly he fell head over heals as if he wanted to prove something, those mini shorts he wears, or the fact that i see no truth in his eyes when he says how much he loves her. who knows?! and to continue on about the actual finale…reid coming back? seriously?! i’m not even going to comment. so ridiculous. he had to pull “multiple strings” to get back on the show. suuuure, like the producers don’t spend every waking moment thinking about how they can put a twist on things. i liked kypton, so i’m actually kind of glad that he didn’t win. now he can go fall in love for real, over a time period longer than 6 weeks. i’ll end my ramble there. anyone else have anything to say?

back on the food front, i made a simply splendid lunch today! i wasn’t super hungry, so this light meal was perfect. i thought about sautéing vegetables, but then the thought of a quinoa and raw veggie salad made its way into my mind. so that’s what i made!

IMG_2593

it was made up of quinoa, chopped red and green bell pepper, grape tomatoes, raw corn, a drizzle of evoo, balsamic vinegar, sea salt, black pepper, italian seasoning, and nutritional yeast. these flavors all melded together and made a really delicious tasting salad. i topped it with a scoop of the best basic hummus i’ve ever made! recipe to come! tonight i’m going to dinner with my mom and a couple of friends at real food daily. woop woop! i’ll try to take a few photos, but because i’m aware of my restaurant photography negligence, i’m not making any promises.

have a fab day, my friends!

14 Responses to “three out of five”

  1. psychoj1 Says:

    I don’t really watch the Bachelorette (did I even just spell it right?!) but that sounds ridiculous!

    OMG your oat groats look amazing!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  2. Special K Says:

    I have to say, I am addicted to Yoga, last night I didn’t want to go. I was dragging the walk there, and then 10 minutes into it! Wallah! It felt so right!
    I want some coconut butter!

  3. peanutbutterandjenny Says:

    i actually didn’t watch the bachelorette last night so i opted not to read that paragraph 🙂 but your groats look amazing this morning! i can only imagine how incredible coconut butter is!

  4. Shelby Says:

    Annnnnd that is my 3rd favorite dvd! haha

  5. Katharina Says:

    Best hummus to date? Can’t wait to read the recipe!! I love blueberries and banana together – this combo also makes an awesome smoothie (with vanilla anything yummm) 🙂

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  6. veganfritz Says:

    I have to be careful with blueberries. I will down the whole pint in a sitting. When I had bloobs in my groats just the other morning, I went with the entire pint.

  7. Mitri Says:

    You’ve got me really curious about dem groats, guh. HRMM….

  8. burpexcuzme Says:

    LOVING your morning bowl! Wow…coconut butter! I have yet to try it, but I have heard such amazing things abt it…how delicious, and how nutritious! I’ve Got to try it sometime!

  9. Emily Says:

    Glad you enjoyed your yoga session! Im still not hooked, but im getting into pilates more!

    I havent had quinoa in so long! MMM!

  10. broccolihut Says:

    Whoa, genius! Banana soft serve and coconut butter sounds like the perfect combo!!

  11. mayapamela Says:

    Looking forward to the hummus recipe! I totally know what you mean about taking pictures in restaurants, I’m getting better at it though!

  12. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    Wow, that breakfast looks SO good! Great way to use that Coconut Butter… YUM! 🙂

    And that quinoa looks fabulous. All those bright veggies really add to the dish!

    xxoo
    Heather

  13. Nora Says:

    I’ve only tried the Artisana Cacao Coconut Butter, how does the plain compare to that one?

  14. Dog Days of Summer « Katharina’s Food Adventures Says:

    […] yogurt, sliced banana, homemade blueberry jam, flaxseed and a crumbled honey graham stick. Thank JB for reminding me of how yummy blueberries and banana are […]

Leave a Reply

