real best friends and real food

what could be better? last night i had a really great dinner with my mom, my best friend, and her older sister (who i also consider a best friend since we’ve all known each other for so long!) i just love them so much that i can’t even put it into words. i’ve been best friends with HE since i was four and i’m going to miss her so much when i move away for college! these girls are not even friends. they’re family. hopefully video chat will be able to suffice while i’m away. but i know that it won’t! i’ll have incredible vegan food where i’m moving, but i won’t have my incredible family nearby. i won’t be able to walk and visit HE at work on any given day, and i won’t have my mom as my early-morning gym buddy anymore. oh my god, i’m making myself so sad now! before i do myself over and start crying, i better get to last night’s food! of course we all started digging in before i remembered to take out my camera. i only took a picture of mine, because it was too difficult to try and take pictures of their food as well. i ordered the basics 4. the “basics” section of the menu allows you to combine anything you like off the different lists, as well as choose a sauce/dressing. i got blackened tempeh, brown spanish rice, potato salad, and pressed salad (which is a fermented cabbage coleslaw-ish salad.) i chose their hickory barbeque sauce to have along with this meal, and let me just say, it all tasted perfectly together! so, so, SO, good. the potato salad was heavenly. i love RFD! vegan restaurants make life so much easier.

IMG_2607

after dinner we went next door to their bakery to check out the selection. i’m not really a dessert person, especially not an after-dinner dessert person, but i did sample the desserts that my mom ordered for us all to share. once again, everything was dug into before i remembered to take a picture! the small dessert was a dark chocolate coconut square, and the bigger dessert was a brownie. i had a bite of the coconut square and it was verrrry delicious. i loved how it came cold, and that the dark chocolate was unsweetened. i also had a few bites of the brownie, and it was kind of crumbly, but the flavor was wonderful regardless. a little bit of sweet vegan indulgence here and there is good for the soul. 🙂

IMG_2610

all in all it was a special dinner filled with lots of talking and laughing. i had a super fun evening! amazing vegan food + amazing company = my idea of the perfect time. anyway, i hope you all have a happy hump-day today! it seems like only yesterday when i said happy hump-day last week! where does the time go?! it’s crazy!

13 Responses to “real best friends and real food”

  1. Shelby Says:

    What a special dinner, I’m glad you had such a great time! =)

  2. Mitri Says:

    I wish we had a restaurant like that nearby 🙂

    I’m sure at college you will find another workout buddy and many great friends!

  3. peanutbutterandjenny Says:

    there’s nothing better than a great meal and being surrounded by great company 🙂 happy to hear you enjoyed yourself, missy! xo

  4. Bianca- Vegan Crunk Says:

    It is one of my life goals to make it to Real Food Daily someday. Seriously.

  5. Emily Says:

    glad you had a good night out with your family and friends. I completely hear you on missing your fam and good friends when you move. That’s something that’s going to be really hard for me, too. 😦

  6. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    What a lovely dinner. I’m sure the company definitely added to the warm atmosphere. I can’t even imagine how hard it will be to leave your friends, but I guess we all have to move on in life. However, that never means you can’t still call her, chat online, text, and make plans to get together every once in a while. I’m sure you two will make it work! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

  7. burpexcuzme Says:

    Oh, sweet girl, I am so glad you had such a lovely time! Great company + great food = perfect time! And don’t worry, such bonds can never be broken, not even by distance!

  8. veganfritz Says:

    I totally agree with the aforementioned Good Food, Good Folks, Good Times.

  9. broccolihut Says:

    dark chocolate coconut square?? Sounds heavenly!

  10. psychoj1 Says:

    I’m sorry you are not going to spend as much time with her as usual. But it’ll be okay! You’re going to love college and you can still get together and chat, talk, etc. You’ll make it work!
    Mmm sounds deliciousss!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  11. Emily Says:

    How fun! I consider my mom a best friend of sorts too!

  12. Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian) Says:

    ohhh this post is adorable – i am so glad you and the fam are close! enjoy your last days with them, and vegan desserts? YUMMMM!

  13. Kailey Says:

    aww girlie I am so glad to hear that you had a fabulous time with the bestie 🙂
    food looks rocking!

Leave a Reply

