a soon-to-be “on this day in history” fact

it’s official. mark your calendars. yesterday, july 31st, goes down as one of the best food-filled days ever! maybe it was just because i was in a positive mood yesterday, so everything felt like it tasted really good? no, everything definitely did taste really good. whatever the reason for my happy taste-buds, yesterday was a good day! it began with groats and soft serve, of course.

IMG_2639

maple-cinnamon groats, banana ss, a cashew cookie larabar

this was like pie a la mode in a bowl. the larabar was like a chewy crust, the groats were like a delicious cinnamony filling, and the banana soft serve was like the ice cream on top (obv.)

later i enjoyed a nice, cold, refreshing glass of coconut h2o. photographing this was completely weird and unnecessary, but here it is. take a looksie.

IMG_2643

okay, so i was seriously proud of myself after making lunch yesterday. actually, i’m still proud of myself right now. not to toot my own horn (lies) but this blackened tempeh sandwich was AMAZING! and my raw salad was right up there with it.

IMG_2645

IMG_2647

IMG_2649

> sandwich: sprouted grains bread,vegenaise, dijon mustard, avocado, my SUPER tasty (and kind of charred…in a yummy way!) tempeh, and ketchup for dipping
> salad: grated beet, grated carrot, grated zucchini, cherry tomatoes, chopped cucumber, fresh basil, evoo, balsamic vinegar, sea salt, and black pepper

a beet just can’t keep its color to itself! it’s gotta dye all the other veggies pink. but i’m not complaining. it adds a cheery vibrance, don’t you think? and sorry for the multitude of pictures. like i said, it gave me mucho pride and i felt the need to document its beauty from more than one angle. by the way, start adding basil to your salads! it makes all the difference! moooovin’ on now…my afternoon snack yesterday was also beauteous. i bought a couple of raw granolas from the bulk section of the co-op. so yum!

IMG_2650

probiotic soy yogurt (don’t worry…even though it’s probiotic, it’s vegan), fresh blueberries, raw austrian pumpkin granola

mmmm, the granola was perfectly sweet without being overbearing or sickly. it had a nice spice too. paired with the tart blueberries and the creamy, tangy yogurt…this snack was perfection! i love granola that comes in clumps. i also bought another flavor of raw granola yesterday. i tried it this morning! well, technically i tried it yesterday…in the store…when i stole a piece out of the bulk container…but shh, don’t tell. this granola will be in tomorrow’s post! let’s go to din din now, shall we?

IMG_2658

mexican millet from v’con, cheezy beans (pinto beans, sea salt, black pepper, nutritional yeast), sauteed spinach, bbq sauce

mmmm, mmmm, MMMM! i will without a doubt be making mexican millet again! both my mom and stepdad loved it too. it was moist, fluffy, chewy, and also kind of crunchy at the same time. and the flavor was excellent. if you have a copy of veganomicon…MAKE THIS! and also…who knew that pinto beans could taste so much better with just 3 simple ingredients added to them?! delicious dinner? check!

and then there was DESSERT!

IMG_2662

cherry amaretto coconut bliss topped with a few pieces of green & black’s 70% dark chocolate (my favorite dc)

how could that not be good?! i savored every last bite. by the way, green & black’s 70% dark chocolate is vegan. there was a little bit of controversy over this, since it’s produced on shared equipment with dairy products. therefore the company doesn’t mark it as vegan because there’s a slight chance of cross-contamination. there is no dairy in the actual chocolate, though. some vegans won’t eat anything manufactured with dairy products. as for me…i don’t live that way. as long as there are no animal ingredients listed in the nutritional information, i consider it safe. life is too short. hopefully that viewpoint doesn’t make me a bad vegan. to wrap this post up, wasn’t yesterday a fabulous day of eats?! 😀

have a STUPENDOUS saturday, everybody! thoughts on this post are still welcome. and on one last note, my co-op nor any of my whole foods have the new larabars yet. i even talked to the man who stocks the bar section. he wasn’t aware that new flavors are out, and is going to put a note in. but if they’re already available somewhere near YOU, or if you have access to any MINI larabars, and would like to do a little blogger package switch-a-roo, i’d be happy to trade some goodies of equal value for the larabars! that would be fun. let me know!

15 Responses to “a soon-to-be “on this day in history” fact”

  1. SHE-FIT Says:

    WOW! You did have a great food-filled day. Love them all. Esp the groats and soft serve! YUM

  2. Shelby Says:

    Your day WAS filled with spectacular eats!
    Breakfast looks so luscious and creamy. I love how you mix the groats with the soft serve…if only I could have bananas!

    Blackened Tempeh huh?! Well, where’s the recipe?! It sounds amazing! Oh and the beet salad is just gorgeous. I love pink =)

    I haven’t made that millet yet but you bet I will now!

    I would love to do a little bar swap! Too bad you can’t send that ice cream in the mail! I would love to try it but can’t find it anywhere =(

  3. Shelby Says:

    Oh and no that doesn’t make you a bad vegan! No worries.

    I just looked online and they ship the ice cream to your door! How exciting!

  4. Mitri Says:

    Will you please please please be my personal chef?

    Unfortunately I haven’t seen the new larabars either or else I’d take you up on your offer!

  5. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    Don’t you just love those days when everything you eat seems to turn out PERFECT? Girl, you definitely had one of those days. 😉

    LOVE that soft serve mix, and what an awesome lunch. How do you make that “blackened tempeh?” I normally eat my tempeh raw, but would love to try it another way!

    xxoo
    Heather

  6. Elly Says:

    Wow that really does look like a great day of food! I’m Elly by the way, I’ve been following you for about a week now. Your food always looks so tasty! The coconut bliss looks very delish, I really want to try it now.

  7. veganfritz Says:

    Your views on the production equipment resonate with my own. However, I do try not to full-heatedly support companies that produce animal by-product containing foods. Obviously that’s tough to do with multi-branch companies but I do what I can.
    The beet salad just looks so fresh it’s amazing. & If you want to swap, I’m game. I’m heading to WF Monday probably, I have to do some investigation on those mysterious new flavors myself.

  8. fearlessfabulousfulloflife Says:

    oh wow those eats DO look incredible! LOVING the coconut bliss with the chocolate– to die for 🙂 !!!

  9. Jessica Says:

    LOVE THE EATS! Your tempeh sammy looks amazing. How is coconut water? I’ve seen it several times but I was afraid it might be bitter. (?? no clue how I came to that conclusion, don’t ask!)

    Also, I don’t think eating foods processed on particular equipment makes anyone vegan or not vegan. Each person does the most they can, the best they can, and that’s what is really important.

    Those who make ‘vegan’ appear like a label people can only earn by being extremely militant (to that point that becomes ridiculous, you know what I mean) about what they eat only scares others away from the idea. (I realize I opened myself up to a world of insults just by saying that, but it’s what I believe…)

  10. Jenny Says:

    dang girlfriend those eats definitely deserve a day of celebration :)!!!

  11. burpexcuzme Says:

    haha, this post made me so happy to see you so happy! lol. Smiling like a fool now to see all that delicious eats! Good mood=good food!

  12. broccolihut Says:

    Yum! The whole day DOES look mouth-watering, but I have to say I like the breakfast the best. I mean, who wouldn’t want “soft serve” and “cashew cookies” for breakfast?!

  13. VeggieGirl Says:

    I’m so envious that you have access to that flavor of Coconut Bliss – they only sell the vanilla and coconut flavors where I live!

  14. Neela Marijana Says:

    yum yum yum!! that salad looks amazing. is the beet you use fresh or do you use the pickeled one?? do you cook it before you use it in the sald. i am so curious cause i really wanne make this myself.
    i wish i could trade bars with you but i’ll probably be the last person in this world to try the new lara’s. in singapore there is no hope whatsoever. sorry hun
    xxx

  15. Katharina Says:

    Okay so I can’t get over this post. Especially your breakfast AND your salad. I lov beets, and the way you described your breakfast.. DAMN GIRL! I really wanna try groats now and maybe with a cashew cream?? I think people forget about condiments when making sandwiches at home. But they really tie the whole thing togheter. I wish I had sprouts for the salad I made yesterday. It’s funny because I don’t eat sprouts on the regular.. ever, but I felt they were missing.

    I haven’t had any luck with the new LARABARS either :\ Have you tried e-mailing the actual company??

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

