you had a bad day, you’re taking one down, you sing a sad song just to turn it around

what a corny song. but i’m not going to lie…yesterday was a really bad day for me. it started with a breakfast that was really yummy, but a little bit too much for me.

IMG_2691

toasted hemp bagel with pb and cinnamon, raw austrian pumpkin granola, smoothie (carrot juice, fresh blueberries, frozen banana)

a couple of hours later i drank more carrot juice. this was when my day turned to hell. not long after drinking it, i got horrible stomach pains, and for the rest of the day i felt more uncomfortable than i’ve felt in a really long time. i rather have been nauseous and throwing up every five minutes than have gone through what i did yesterday. my stomach bloated to what looked like the stomach of a woman who’s seven months pregnant. not lying. i did a lot of crying and napping, and just felt so awful. i still ate lunch, an afternoon snack, and dinner…even though eating probably only wreaked more havoc on my system. i wanted to eat, but regretted it afterwards. and i was at home being sedentary practically the whole day, which made me incredibly stir-crazy. a combination of the guilt and lack of movement made me feel so horrible mentally, and i psyched myself out. i blamed my stomach problems on having eaten too much the past couple of days, when in reality it was probably just drinking too much carrot juice that made my intestines spaz out. (carrot juice stirs up toxic layers and materials in the colon and intestines.) so anyway, i’ve decided that i’m not going to force myself to eat more food in order to put on weight. i consume a lot simply by eating the portions that i’m used to eating. i see my doctor today, and if he thinks i need to gain some weight, i’m going to try to sneak in calories without adding too much more food. for example by cooking vegetables in a tad more oil, making higher calorie sauces and dressings, taking bigger scoops of nut butters, and having snacks that are small yet calorie-dense. forcing myself to eat more than i want to only makes me not want to eat as much later on…which therefore makes the entire thing counter-effective. i’m going to do what makes my body feel comfortable. i truly believe that listening to my body is the best thing for it. purposely eating more and then feeling like shit afterwards is not worth it. i will for sure give you a re-cap of my doctor’s appointment, but other than that, i’m just going to continue blogging like i used to. no more of this stressful talk! i don’t want anyone to be concerned with my health, though. i promise you that i will take care my myself.

more of yesterday’s eats:

IMG_2694

corn-quinoa pasta, garbanzo beans, sauteed zucchini, creamy tomato sauce (marinara sauce + soy milk)

IMG_2695

acai bowl (frozen banana + 1 sambazon acai smoothie pack) with raw mulberry walnut granola

IMG_2699

middle eastern wrap from a cute vegan cafe near my house

i feel like i need to talk more about yesterday to get it out of my system, but that’s only going to make me dwell on it more. i need to forget about it and continue on with my life. there are much worse problems in the world than my bad day. i hold onto things for WAY too long, and stress myself out so much. it’s not fair to my poor soul! hopefully today will be a better day.

i love you guys! and again…thank you so much for your support on my recent posts, and for the kindness you’ve always given me. it sounds kind of lame, but even though i don’t know a lot of you very well, you mean so much to me! and if there are any people out there who read my blog but haven’t introduced themselves, please do! i love meeting new bloggers, and i welcome all comments! 🙂

have a MANIC MERRY monday!

14 Responses to “you had a bad day, you’re taking one down, you sing a sad song just to turn it around”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Get 100% well soon!!

  2. Jenny Says:

    aw sweetheart – i’m so sorry to hear about your difficult day! I hope monday brings smiles and positivity to you — try to leave yesterdays emotions in the past!

  3. Chocolate-Covered Katie Says:

    Awwww JB, I’m sending major hugs your way!

  4. keri410 Says:

    I hope you feel better soon chica! Way to tough things out! Even if you weren’t that into your eats, they sure LOOK good! (:

  5. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope Says:

    I’m so sorry you didn’t feel so well yesterday! I’ve been plagued with major stomach issues (IBS) since I was 5 years old, and although they’ve gotten so much better as I’ve gotten older, I do know how terrible tummy troubles can be. My best advice? Eat lots of crackers, toast, oatmeal, bananas, apples, soups, and jello. Of course, you can add some nut butter on any of the listed foods. 😉

    As far as eating more, I’d suggest just making all of your choices extremely nutrient dense. Even snacks should include multiple food groups! Eat lots of whole grain, nuts and nut butters, beans, dried fruit, etc. Get in lots of higher caloried fruits like bananas, apples, mangos, pears, and strawberries, and higher caloried veggies like carrots. It’s all about making choices that will give you enough nutrients for their quantity and finding that balance for what you need to stay healthy. I have no doubt you’ll make it through fine!

    xxoo
    Heather

  6. Shelby Says:

    Feel Better Soon!!!

    I know the feeling of eating when sick, it sucks. If you ever need to chat feel free to e-mail me!

  7. veganfritz Says:

    Just do what feels natural for your body! You’re an entirely altruistic person and it sucks (for lack of better words) you have to be put through mental stress and physiological. I have empathy for ya and despite not knowing you personally, you mean a lot to me as a human as well. oh & +1 to VegGirl I want to see ya @ 100% soon. Maybe even 110%

  8. burpexcuzme Says:

    Hey, girl! Oh dear. I so feel your pain. Trying to gain weight is NOT as easy as it seems! It is physically painful and uncomfortable. I hope you find a more comfortable way on reaching your goals, and I think you already did. Cooking your veggies, more high calorie-dressing, etc. Best of luck! *HUG*

  9. fearlessfabulousfulloflife Says:

    aww babe! im so sorry you had such a rough day! i can definitely relate to that ‘bloated’ feeling– but it is just a FEELING– it used to happen to me a lot of i ate less dense and more voluminous foods (even though it was the same calorie load).
    im so proud of you for wanting to hear what your doc says and taking it from there– its your life and you should do whatever is going to make you FEEL good and be as healthy as possible!! hang in there love xoxoxo

  10. Emily Says:

    Sorry today was so rough! I’m glad you’re going to just listen to your body and take care of yourself. Hang in there…thinking of you!

  11. broccolihut Says:

    Ick, sorry to hear about your stomach issues. I’ll keep that in mind about carrot juice!
    I hope your doctor’s appointment went well today. Keep us all updated:)

  12. Mitri Says:

    Stomach problems are the worst 😦 One time my stomach went out of wack when I thought it would be fun to eat an apple and drink a couple glasses of apple juice at the same time… Don’t try it 😉

    I think you’re right– higher calorie sauces/dressings, adding dried fruits and nuts to dishes.. that would be better than trying to stuff yourself because stuffing yourself will take the joy out of eating 😦 Smaller quantities, greater caloric qualities!

  13. Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian) Says:

    oh i’m sorry to hear about your bad day – we’ve all been there though. i’m totally guilty of dwelling and making things worse, when really, moving on and looking forward WILL make you feel better!

    we are always here to listen. lighten up on the carrot juice, get a good night’s sleep and have a fabulous day my dear!

  14. Nora Says:

    I WANT a toasted hemp bagel with PB and cinnamon!

Leave a Reply

